I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2010, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

My mobo version was 1.8 n i just flashed it to 1.B, highest available. Now my computer wont boot up normally without me using the Windows CD to use a restore point. Any advice on what i can do n look at to fix this problem?

UPDATE:

i seem to be working fine now. I am booting the HDD first n not my boot disc. I think me disabling quick booting in BIOS fixed the problem. Hmm idk wierd. Why would i get such an error when im simply just flashing to the lastest update? I dont get it.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 261
Default Re: I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

Depending on which version of Windows it is, during the install process Windows takes an inventory of all hardware in the system and basically marries itself to it--thats why if you upgrade more than 3 major components windows will require you to re-register. Sometimes when you flash the bios to a newer version the system (windows) thinks its an entirely new motherboard and could cause you some problems, such as having to boot from the cd so it can update its driver database
__________________

NoNameNY is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNameNY View Post
Depending on which version of Windows it is, during the install process Windows takes an inventory of all hardware in the system and basically marries itself to it--thats why if you upgrade more than 3 major components windows will require you to re-register. Sometimes when you flash the bios to a newer version the system (windows) thinks its an entirely new motherboard and could cause you some problems, such as having to boot from the cd so it can update its driver database
Well it seems to be working right now. I hope it doesnt happen again.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

I had the same problem just last night. I flashed my Mobo and it asked me to fix a problem or start windows normally. When I did and I was pretty sure this was going to happen, all my settings went back to normal, I lost my OC and everything else I had changed.
But what NoNameNY said I believe is the case. Windows is nosey and if you make the slightest change it wants to butt in. Big brother is always watching!! haha
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 261
Default Re: I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattk1045 View Post
I had the same problem just last night. I flashed my Mobo and it asked me to fix a problem or start windows normally. When I did and I was pretty sure this was going to happen, all my settings went back to normal, I lost my OC and everything else I had changed.
But what NoNameNY said I believe is the case. Windows is nosey and if you make the slightest change it wants to butt in. Big brother is always watching!! haha
Not so much nosey (thats google's job) but they want to make sure that an end user doesn't use the same cd key for multiple machines--heaven forbid they lose a sale or two
NoNameNY is offline  
Old 08-21-2010, 04:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: I flashed my mobo and now my PC wont boot up normally, help!

UPDATE: It keeps happening. I get this 0xc0000225 error. I got past it by reseting BIOS n then try starting Windows normally. On stock settings now. Idk if i want to reset my computer n then it wouldnt work again. Should i re-flash my PC back to 1.9v using a floppy or 1.B again?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new mobo and cpu wont boot. mahiv87 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 30 02-23-2010 10:42 PM
Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo? Selidor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 12-05-2009 04:06 PM
Gigabyte Mobo! Flashed To Pro2? burned-ati Overclocking and Modding 0 01-02-2006 07:59 PM
new mobo, old raid array, windows wont boot! buckman341 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 06-19-2005 05:11 PM
windows wont boot with new mobo Ph3nyX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 09-22-2004 04:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.