I Feared, it happened, or did it? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 10:25 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Ste....hate to say this, but that is exactly what mine would do when my motherboard took a dump. It would turn on, then off. If i held the power button down it would fully boot, but would then die anytime i tried to reboot or start up without holding down the power button.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:12 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Well, My situation is slightly different, it POST's, it boots into windows, but as soon as I put load on it, Blend test through prime95 for example on stock speeds, computer turns off.

Very well could be the motherboard, but I would rather RMA the PSU FIrst. I have yet to be emailed back by PC Power and cooling..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:31 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Hows that board treating you anyway. I'm still debating between that one and the x38-ds4. I've about had it with SLI. 90% sure after i get a few benches done, that 1 GTS is going on ebay and i'm going x38 then upgrading to the 780i which will also go on ebay. Then crossfire 3870x2's
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 02:15 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Hows that board treating you anyway. I'm still debating between that one and the x38-ds4. I've about had it with SLI. 90% sure after i get a few benches done, that 1 GTS is going on ebay and i'm going x38 then upgrading to the 780i which will also go on ebay. Then crossfire 3870x2's
Other than this little bump in the road its awesome. Has alot of voltage options, no overclocking holes of any kind. It uses an 8 pin power connector near the CPU instead of a four pin one. It is very nice. Not much else to say...
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:07 PM   #25 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Other than this little bump in the road its awesome. Has alot of voltage options, no overclocking holes of any kind. It uses an 8 pin power connector near the CPU instead of a four pin one. It is very nice. Not much else to say...
my psu came with a 4 and 6 pin...what do you do if your psu doesnt have an 8pin conector?
My psu is in my sig....
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:11 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

You could use a converter or just shove a 4 Pin connector instead. But you should refer to manual before doing anything.

Your PSU doesn't have an 8 Pin connector?? Werid.
Mine comes with two 6 Pin, one 24 pin, one 8 pin and one 4 pin.. And a whole crap load of molex and SATA connectors..
Ste is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:26 PM   #27 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
You could use a converter or just shove a 4 Pin connector instead. But you should refer to manual before doing anything.

Your PSU doesn't have an 8 Pin connector?? Werid.
Mine comes with two 6 Pin, one 24 pin, one 8 pin and one 4 pin.. And a whole crap load of molex and SATA connectors..
well, ill be sticking with my mobo and psu for a while but i was jw.
thanksf or the info anyways.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 03:57 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Oddly enough, my ds3r only has a 4 pin connection.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:37 AM   #29 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Oddly enough, my ds3r only has a 4 pin connection.
well idk what diff a 4 and 6 have...
although my psu came with a 6pin too and i didnt liek how it wasnt modular, so i had to hide it behind my case.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 02:50 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I Feared, it happened, or did it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Ste....hate to say this, but that is exactly what mine would do when my motherboard took a dump. It would turn on, then off. If i held the power button down it would fully boot, but would then die anytime i tried to reboot or start up without holding down the power button.
Update: I have decided to RMA the motherboard as well. The worst they can tell me is that there is nothing wrong with it..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what happened to all the rumors about a "new" 8800GTS Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-20-2007 07:01 PM
what the heck happened?!? machiavelli Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-31-2007 09:17 PM
Started my computer after being gone for a week, what happened?! (Pictures) King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 22 04-03-2007 10:08 PM
OMG what HAPPENED to TF????? pc_boy Off Topic Discussion 96 03-28-2007 08:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.