I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2008, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen!

My dad purchased a computer about 2-3 years ago and it was working fine. After a while our router broke so we just put the computer in the garage with the rest of the junk. I was trying to make use of some of the parts so I took the hard drive, formatted it and used it as an external drive. I understand that there is no more OS left on the drive, so I popped in my Windows XP disc so I can install a new OS but I can't get it past the first screen. There is not even an option to get into the bios. I tried hitting all the F keys but its nothing, the computer won't get past the "eMachines" page. What could it be and what do you guys think I should do to resolve this problem?

I understand that emachines isn't the best computer in the world but it was only going to be used for basic internet surfing and word documents. Is there any way I could restore this computer or is it done?
__________________

__________________
Computer
Lian Li PC-65 Plus II case
Intel E6600 at 2.4 (for now)
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme CPU Heatsink
Asus P5W DH Deluxe motherboard
eVGA GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB hard drive
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (1gb x 4)
Pioneer DVR-2910 multi format CD/DVD drive (2)
Zalman ZM750-HP 750w power supply

Audio
Onkyo TX-SR574
Polk Audio RTi12 (2)
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen!

Hello,

Have you tried to find a updated BIOS? Have you checked all the internal connections to make sure they are all snug?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 05:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Hello,

Have you tried to find a updated BIOS? Have you checked all the internal connections to make sure they are all snug?

Cheers,
Mak
All of the internal connections are all good, but just in case what should I be looking for in particular?

So would an updated bios let me activate the bios? From what I am seeing, it looks like a confused dead computer that doesn't know what to do after the motherboard logo.
__________________
Computer
Lian Li PC-65 Plus II case
Intel E6600 at 2.4 (for now)
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme CPU Heatsink
Asus P5W DH Deluxe motherboard
eVGA GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB hard drive
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (1gb x 4)
Pioneer DVR-2910 multi format CD/DVD drive (2)
Zalman ZM750-HP 750w power supply

Audio
Onkyo TX-SR574
Polk Audio RTi12 (2)
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen!

if you are using it as a secondary external hard drive, why do you need to install an OS?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 02:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: I can't get my computer past the motherboard logo screen!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
if you are using it as a secondary external hard drive, why do you need to install an OS?
I was using it as an external hard drive. I formatted it and used it in my own computer for the time being but now I put it back in the computer so I can use it and install an OS but its not working.

Anyone else know what I should do?
__________________
Computer
Lian Li PC-65 Plus II case
Intel E6600 at 2.4 (for now)
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme CPU Heatsink
Asus P5W DH Deluxe motherboard
eVGA GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB
Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD753LJ 750GB hard drive
Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (1gb x 4)
Pioneer DVR-2910 multi format CD/DVD drive (2)
Zalman ZM750-HP 750w power supply

Audio
Onkyo TX-SR574
Polk Audio RTi12 (2)
guitarplyrstevo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen, Computer Won't Post, No BIOS, Help! doodah12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-14-2008 02:38 PM
blue bios screen then computer shuts down Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-20-2007 10:40 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
HDMI to computer screen? Hellseeker Off Topic Discussion 1 04-01-2007 10:00 AM
Computer restarting when running full screen applications zinch_smug Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-25-2007 01:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.