I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2011, 03:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

Hello this is my first post and I hope that I can get the help I need to fix a major problem of mine. In the last few hours my main system suffered a extremely bad crash.

My system is a quad core AMD with a 750 gig and a 1 terabyte hard drive running Windows Vista.

This is a quick step by step of what happened:

I was working on my Vista machine and all of the processes and icons froze on my system including my mouse. I let the system set for 2 hours and nothing happened in that time span so I did the only real thing I thought I could do at that point and did a hard shut down.
__________________

tech22 is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

Well... Did it turn back on? Have you tried getting access to anything? We can't really help you with such limited information.

What is the full list of specs? Motherboard/PSU/GPU/RAM/CPU.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

Check your temperatures with HWMonitor. It is either an overheat or OS corrupting.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default fix

You can also use the disk that came with the computer to do a repair
GrahamFX is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

^ Only if your CD has SP3 slipstreamed.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MyGodAL3X's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 460
Default Re: I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

what is SP3 slipstreamed?
MyGodAL3X is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 11:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: I am having a problem with amajor crash and need a suggestion on what the solution might be

Means that it has SP3 (Service Package) in it. You can not repair an OS with SP3 if your disk only has SP2 on it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fallout 3 Crash to desktop - solution here [t..o..m] PC Gaming 85 03-15-2010 06:43 PM
Overheating problem and possible solution Verruckt New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-26-2009 12:07 PM
PSU Problem Solution AMDSCOrPiO New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-26-2006 01:32 PM
Big problem... need fast solution! SirDeity Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-25-2005 12:50 AM
Does anyone have a solution to this problem??? LauraP Programming 8 10-25-2004 09:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.