I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2010, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Exclamation I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

So i recently screwed up royally and i changed the buffering of my ram in the bios which apparently you shouldn't do as a rookie and my computer wont boot. Everything turns on but than the HDD light just blinks slowly and nothing happens. Help me i need this fixed.
__________________

Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Have you tried resetting the BIOS?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Have you tried resetting the BIOS?
Well how do I reset my bios when i can't get the computer to even get to start the boot?
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

with the computer unplugged pull the cmos battery and press the power button a few times to drain it of power. wait 20 minutes and put it back and power it on.

other option is to check your manual for which pins to jump to clear cmos.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Sorry bout not posting this in the first 2 but...

My comp is:
EMachines W3107
AMD 3100+ Sempron
1.81ghz 384Ram
Windows XP Vers. 2002 SP3
NVIDIA GeForce 6100
As well as:
a SB Live! PCI sound car and
a Belkin USB 2.0 5-port PCI card
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Just do what hefe said
the cmos battery is the silver, coin shaped battery on the motherboard.
Also, you don't *have* to wait 20 minutes. Just press the power button a few times then put the battery back in, plug the power in again and start.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
with the computer unplugged pull the cmos battery and press the power button a few times to drain it of power. wait 20 minutes and put it back and power it on.

other option is to check your manual for which pins to jump to clear cmos.
Ok will do keep the ideas coming just in case guys I love this site great responses and time.
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Also, you don't *have* to wait 20 minutes. Just press the power button a few times then put the battery back in, plug the power in again and start.
Correct. I just say 20 minutes as well in case they do not properly drain the power to avoid the "It did not reset it" response.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

OMG guys! Fantastic help Its all better now. Thank you both.
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 02:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I ____ED up my bios!!! HELP!

np if you need any help OCing post up another thread
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
CMOS/ BIOS trouble shooting. Random Seeker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-15-2008 12:03 PM
Bios for my motherboard Quake_City Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-29-2008 09:47 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.