Huh? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2006, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default Huh?

DAM computer!!!
Tis Was working fine, went to watch a film and left it on, now i cant get anything on the monitor i've tried a different monitor which i know works also i tried a differnet graphics card, what could have gone wrong in the space of two hours while doing nothing!
__________________

__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Ok so this is what happened in more details, come back after watching my film, turned the screen on nothing there so i restarted everything came up went to log in....then blank screen and nothing, aint worked since!
__________________

__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Sounds like something happened to your video card... Try rebooting in safe mode and go into control panel and try to reinstall the drivers.
Vivid48 is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

Try powering up the system, and before the Windows XP splash screen (the loading screen) hit F8, then select Enable VGA Mode then press Enter.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-05-2006, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

OOHH, i've had to do the "Enable VGA Mode" took me about two hours to figure that out, and i was about to smash my computer.

It deffinetly sounds like the video card, maybe even the motherboard, what type of socket is the video card? PCI-E or AGP? and check to make sure the socket the video card is in isn't moving or anything (don't apply to much pressure), if it is then your board is bad
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 02:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

I cant boot into safe mode becasue i cant see anything, i cant even see the post screen just blank, the motherboard is only a few days old (i dont think theres anything wrong with it becasue it was working fine).

I've also tried a new graphics card and still nothing so i dont think its a graphics card issue.
__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 05:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Take out your video-card and turn on your computer. You should hear a bunch of annoying beeps. If you do, then BIOS is recognizing that you have no video-card (this is a good thing). Put the video-card back in, and take all the RAM out and do it again. It should beep again when you turn it on.

If it beeps, then it is PROBALLY either a RAM issue, or a CPU issue. If it doesn't beep, it's likely that the mobo is the problem.

Sometimes parts break before they're even out of the box, so don't assume something isn't wrong with something just because it is new.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Graphics card is built in! Im not saying it wont be broke becasue its new, im saying it wont be broke becasue it was working then it stopped!
P.s. Dont mean to sound rude with that statement
__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Ok quick update, pulled out the RAM turned on and nothing no beeps....so im guessing the mobo is gone! Any suggestions, could there be a component doing this because its similar to my last pc problem?

Help me!? Please
__________________

__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.