Huge drops in FPS during games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Default Huge drops in FPS during games

hello all, I am having a serious issue right now with my computer... while im gaming I am having huge spikes in my FPS...ill be running a constant 70FPS and then have it drop down to 15FPS for a couple seconds. I have tried a million things to fix this, but I have yet to solve the problem.

My system:
p4 Prescott 3.0ghz HT CPU (stock speed)
1 GIG corsair XMS memory 2x512
200GB maxtor IDE HD
Radeon 256 MB x700 PRO (at stock speeds)
420 watt PSU
SB Audigy 2 value

I have done the following:

1. Used the newest drivers for the video card, omegadrivers
2. Reinstalled windows
3. Reinstalled windows and game on a different HD to see if the HD was broken
4. used different memory sticks
5. used different video cards
6. scanned for virus/adware
7. applied thermalgrease to cpu and bought new heatsink&fan running at 6000RPM
8. bought a new MOBO to test on
9. updated BIOS
10. changed bios settings
11. Monitored temps, 45 Idle, 55 running games

any suggestions would be appreciated, I cant stand my computer

ima4ltrwrd is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769

do you have a stable internet connection, everything u have done above is everything i would suggest.

Does it happen on the new motherboard? because if it does id point my finger at your HD or Video card.

Whens the last time you defragmented?

Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969

What game? What are the graphics settings?
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b></b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to metal11

i used to have the same problem in ut2003 /4, but after a mobo and processor upgrade it went away

also, make sure your up to date on spyware / virus scans
metal11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.