HP Presario driver help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2014, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default HP Presario driver help

I reformatted an HP Presario CQ56. I am trying to get the drivers for it's network card and its chipset drivers but cannot find the model number on the bottom. None of the numbers match HP's website models. I managed to install the AMD drivers via Catalyst. These are the only numbers located with the product key

584037-001

X16-96072

PRODUCT KEY

00196-157-482-930
__________________

__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: HP Presario driver help

Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenapples View Post
I reformatted an HP Presario CQ56. I am trying to get the drivers for it's network card and its chipset drivers but cannot find the model number on the bottom. None of the numbers match HP's website models. I managed to install the AMD drivers via Catalyst. These are the only numbers located with the product key

584037-001

X16-96072

PRODUCT KEY

00196-157-482-930
Software & driver downloads Compaq Presario CQ56-115DX Notebook PC | HP® Support

If thats the correct laptop see if the drivers for the network card may help.
You can use cpu-z to find out the mobo model if your uncertain.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: HP Presario driver help

Open up Device Manager
On everything that has a yellow exclamation mark, do the following:
Right click -> Properties -> Details tab
Post the following info for each item that has a yellow exclamation mark:
Under "Hardware Ids" in the dropdown, it should have something like VEN_####&DEV#### ; post that section, where #### = some alphanumeric combination.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: HP Presario driver help

I don't have any exclamation marks and in cpu z and it says model 1604. I updated the wireless network card with an ethernet connection. It said it updated but does not work.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: HP Presario driver help

Do you have the wireless switch turned on?

If it's a keyboard key to toggle it on, i've seen with hp's you need to install their keyboard driver or software utility to make the Function keys work.

Sent from my HTC One
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Driver: Compaq Presario C700T CTO Notebook PC InkiLab Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-25-2008 10:10 AM
Driver for Presario B1206TU - Windows XP pvadi Laptops and Notebooks 1 01-25-2008 01:34 PM
Presario B1206tu Driver? rikinel Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-06-2007 10:42 PM
Need help with older Presario 1235 notebook! algae Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-09-2005 05:53 PM
Need help disassembling Compaq Presario 700 laptop amclean Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-30-2004 12:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.