HP Pavilion not powering up???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default HP Pavilion not powering up????

My sister has a HP Pavilion desktop computer. She said it just had a blank screen so when I checked it out it turned on with no problem. I then shut it down and tried to turn it back on just to see if I could get it to do what she said but at that point it would not power up at all. The fan wont come on or anything. I switched out the power cord and it still wont come on? Does anyone have any ideas? I greatly appreciate any help.

Thank you.
__________________

snoopy29 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Before this happened, was hardware recently added or any internal modifications made? Nothing happens when you hit the power button? No beeps, no fans, no PSU, no lights? This is a really common sense thing which probably isn't the case, but make sure that the PSU's power switch is on :P. After that if that isn't the case, open up the PC and check the power connections to the motherboard.

If nothing prevails, something may be broken.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Nothing was added as my sister doesnt know anything when it comes to that. I'm ok with the basics with installing drives and memory. When I went over to her house all I did was hook it back up and turned on. It came right up and I thought she was nuts. I said let me reboot to see what happens and it was dead. No fan, no lights... nothing. Thank you for responding.
snoopy29 is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Id suggest the PSU is shotif as your saying u get no fans or lights. If you had anything added as b4 i would say check all internal connections. But as nothing has changed your power supply seems to be the prob.
Stealth1S1K is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 05:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you all for your help. I appreciate it.
snoopy29 is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Power supply....now the bad news.......HP's have proprietay PSU hookups and they are expensive unless it is a P4 478 or latter as they use the 12 volt rail and not their proprietary P6 connector for the Northbridge chipset.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.