HP Laptop won't underclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default HP Laptop won't underclock

Title says it all.

HP ZV6170ca
AMD 64 Athlon 3800+

Both properties and CPU-Z both say 2.39Ghz with nothing on. Power Setting is set to Portable/Laptop.

Was kickin down just fine till about 3 days ago, did a HP update, found an update for the AMD processors, did it, and no change.

Done spyware, and virus scans..... Nothing.

Please help...... It gets hot hot hot
__________________

patonb is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: HP Laptop won't underclock

Quote:
Originally posted by patonb
...Was kickin down just fine till about 3 days ago...
How d'ya mean?

By underclocking do you mean AMD Cool 'N' Quiet technology?

If so, then this technology doesn't lower the CPU clock when the system overheats. All the technology does is lower the clock according to processer utilisation. So, if you're not using the laptop, or you're running a program which doesn't require 100% of the CPU's processing capacity, then the clock speed of the CPU will drop to save power and as a result of a lower clock speed, reduce heat dissipation.

Thermal throttling is what you're referring to. Lowering the CPU clock speed when the system overheats. I think this is a motherboard chipset & BIOS capability, not a feature of the AMD Athlon XP 64 processor.

Unfortunately, a hot system and low battery life is what you get when you put an non mobile processor (Athlon XP 64 3800+) in a laptop.

What temperature is it at? Go into your BIOS to find out, or download FanSpeed here http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php to find out. Post the temps here.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default

I mean the Cool n quiet, and i do understand the why and how. It only gets hot cause the CPU is buzzing along at 2.39Ghz, with a CPU usage of 0-3% all day. Where as it use to drop to 449Mhz and such before.

Its as if I have the power setting to "Always On".

thanks
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Now i understand .

Seems like your HP update installed the wrong AMD driver.

Download the correct driver for your CPU here http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...1_9706,00.html . Next, uninstall your current driver and install the new one.

Also check to make sure you've either selected 'Minimal Power Management' or selected 'Automatic Mode' in the Cool n Quiet tab of Power Options in Control Panel.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default

thank You........ Seems to be back A OK!

Ooked and YES, the update was for the 64bit OS. Stupid asses at HP.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default

Back at this again...... Until the above 1st update, my machine woukld routinely run at 499mhz, 700mhz..... but now it'll only run 1000mhz at the lowest power savings. with the latest driver.
Anyone else notice this with the latest "update" Also, anyone knnow of an older driver is, well just the previous one, so i can be sure its a driver issue.

Thanks y'all
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.