HP cannot read HDD... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default HP cannot read HDD...

Long story broken into points.
Old computers HDD
Cousins old HP case/mobo/cpu/RAM/Cdrom

Using onboard video for the time being.

Ok now.. IN my old case/setup the HDD runs fine, in fact I was on it last night. I put the HDD into the HP however and it will not read... I've tried jumper settings and the like and nothing.. I don't see a "bios" setup for it.. just a blue HP splash screen.

Someone throw some Ideas at me.. I would like to finish this up, shower, and go to a friends house by 11 tonight my time, so I can celebrate fully.

Iam currently using my XP cd to reinstall windows directory (non format- replace windows only) hoping maybe it was something corrupt... 50% complete...as of writing this
__________________

Kisskerven is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

try cable select jumper setting and try different IDE or Sata cable.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

its IDE and i used the one it came with- and the one i had attached in my older computer (the one i know works) and nothing...

another thing:
When I leave it to boot- or select "boot from c:" it goes to a black screen, cursor blinkin in top left.. but nothing more.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

try HDD is your PC again make sure it did not go bad.
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

PXE-E61 Media failure.. I have no idea what that means..

and as for jumpers/cable I set to all 4 jumper settings one at a time, booted (or tried) and nothing... even with no jumper in....

Iam pretty sure its not the drive... I mean.. I can test like 4 other HDD and get the same results

When I put a HDD with no OS on it says "A disk read error occurded, press ctrl+alt+del to restart" so its finding HDDs.. just not.. booting.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

download hdd test from manufacture
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

hows that going to help, i had to salvage the PSU from my older one to put into this HP, so I have 1 PSU, 1 Video card to go between 2 computers, and since it has no Floppy, unless I can run a test from USB drive it won't help...

Iam installing windows xp on a HDD that didn't have an OS... hoping for the best.

I know this HDD fails its test though, S.M.A.R.T. fails on it, but it does function as a storage drive (for now- what ive been using it for) i had a 13GB one running the OS and this one for storage on my old computer and it was working ok- Iam tryin to test if its my Video or my HDD or my Mobo though causing game crashes, hince why Iam on here.

This is an Intel.. my old was an AMD.. but I don't think that's causing it.

Oddly enough i put an old 3GB HDD in with windows ME and it boots... and started scan disk on itself.... WTF ... grr.....

maybe it has a problem reading NTFS?

if thats the case.. it should be a bios update.. correct? *begins looking for HP bios*

****EDIT****
Happy New year and all that.. didn't get it done like I hoped.. but oh well... now to find out more. Couldn't find a bios update.. HP site is horribly made and alll the Serial numbers and codes I found on the machine led to nothing. So Iam going to take my original OS drive.. save any info on it with my old rig (taking apart the new computer for parts) then put the new computer back together, install Windows XP again- but this time formatting in fat32 (since ME boots up fine on a 3GB HDD but my 13GB Hdd in NTFS won't boot) and see if that works... see ya in like.. an hour or 2.


Looking at the IDE cable from the HP- it has a small very precise cut in it, i can see copper wiring inside.. but I don't know if this is supposed to be there (some manufacturers thing) or if its really damaged.... its the 14th cable on non-color edge side..about 1/4 inch from the blue connector side (to Motherboard). I'll be using some old IDE's for now..
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 01-01-2008, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

oddly enough it wont let me edit my own post ><

Formatted into FAT and it seems to load fine. - still installing though.. the drive seems slow ><

Ok.. boots up and all that.. but now I need help..

I have a second, larger HDD I wanted to use, as a storage, but its in NTFS format- also - i cannot really backup the info- no space for it, and no CDs left.

So I really would like to know how I can get this HP to read NTFS drives..
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 12:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

I had a 40GB laptop drive that had bad sectors on it. My PC only showed it as 8GB, but it was an old PC that didn't support >8GB in BIOS. Once Windows 98 kicked in, it worked, but the drive had to be partitioned for Windows to work because of the bad sectors. The bad area was a storage partition, which made a nice FTP server out of a Pentium 133 PC I got for free.

Then it died. All the files were lost and the hard drive refused to power up.

I'd beware using damaged drives if I were you, luckily I had backups of my FTP (which now has a lame 5GB drive).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 04:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: HP cannot read HDD...

Eh i have most if not all the data backed up on Jumpdrives and an old CD (everything that I want that is) Iam just trying to get a stable computer running for some game purposes since my old rig finally is gettin to the point of where I can't do anything= literally boot up- load a game- 5 minutes crash. Tryin to test if its HDD, Video, MOBO, PSU or AotA, sadly my PSU cannot handle this mobo AND a video- so Iam using integrated vid, but it does support 4 sticks of RAM- my old only supported 3. (and I had a 256MB layin around) also this proccessor is 2.53GHz, my old was 1.35Ghz, and I have a 3.0GHz chip for this mobo layin around to put in when I upgrade the micro structure to support it. Plus this computer has USB 2.0 Drives.. so its like a Half Upgrade... without being a complete loss. 94MB onboard video isn't THAT bad.. won't play any High End games.. but then again I don't play super high end games right now...(But when your computer crashes playing CS 1.6 or Sims2 you know something is wrong!)

I still can't get it to read NTFS drives...
__________________

Kisskerven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.