HP a1310n problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2009, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 5
Default HP a1310n problems

Howdy all.

I am trying to fix a desktop for a friend. It's a 3 year old HP a1310n and it was hit with a power surge during a lightning storm. He said it wasn't plugged into a power bar, just a wall outlet. He's an idiot, I know. It turns on, but the CPU fan kicks into high gear right away and there is no video. No beeps, no nothing. I bought a good used power supply off of ebay, tested it in my pc, put it in his and that had no affect. I ordered a good used stock mobo off of E-bay and put it in tonight. Turned the computer on and still nada. The fans kick into high gear, and I have no video. I thought maybe it was the hard drive, so I took out the HD from my desktop and hooked it up to the other PC and no luck. I'm kind of out of ideas now. Could the processor be fried? Memory sticks chooched, maybe? I have no idea. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any replies.

Vince
__________________

blackhawk5421 is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

First thing I'd try is different RAM and/or video card.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

I agree with RAM, try that, although I'm not so sure about the video card. I believe the computer would still post without video. Could be wrong though. Since you got a new mobo, my first two guesses would be RAM and CPU, in that order.
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 06:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western NY
Posts: 5
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

Yeah, that's what I figured. Ok, I will look up some specs on the RAM in that one and for my pc to see if I can test it before I go and buy more stuff.

Thanks!
blackhawk5421 is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
I agree with RAM, try that, although I'm not so sure about the video card. I believe the computer would still post without video. Could be wrong though. Since you got a new mobo, my first two guesses would be RAM and CPU, in that order.
Usually not. Bare essentials of a computer needed to POST are pretty much: RAM, CPU, Video. Would be pointless to still pass POST if there's no video .

CPU's can be fairly hard to fry, but it's still not out of the questions...just highly uncommon.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Usually not. Bare essentials of a computer needed to POST are pretty much: RAM, CPU, Video. Would be pointless to still pass POST if there's no video .

CPU's can be fairly hard to fry, but it's still not out of the questions...just highly uncommon.
Fair enough, but even if he does get past this problem, wonder how he is going to go about solving the major one. He has an HP!
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

At least its not a Dell .

HP's are better, IMO. Had 3 (old one that had Win98 on it...one that had XP on it a few years ago...and an older Vectra with Win2k my dad got from work) of 'em in my house...and I have a Compaq laptop. I'd take an HP over the other guys anyday.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

I agree. they are better, but used to be really decent. Nowadays, sadly, the only way to get a decent computer is to either build it yourself or purchase from a small company. (i.e. No integrated OS's, forcing you to install tons of useless garbage along with your operating system, no custom built crap, forcing you to send it to and pay them to have something new installed, etc...).

Actually, Dell itself used to be decent. Packard Bell, however, has always sucked. Heheh
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

HP/Compaq are a lot better than others about letting users upgrade their stuff though. We sell HP's in our store,and have to work on them/compaqs usually. Even older HP's aren't all that bad to replace parts. Dell on the other hand...*shudders*

Agreed on building yourself though. Best way to go.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: HP a1310n problems

Yeah, my friend got his girlfriend a new computer case a few years ago and asked me if I would install all the components of her current computer into the new case. I agreed and went to attempt it. That is when I realized how bad Dell has gotten. It was impossible to put the components in the new case. They had the motherboard custom made so it would not mount in a standard case. Needless to say, she ended up selling that piece of crap, thank goodness. Feel sorry for the sucker that bought it though.
__________________

MundoDragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM
Problems with reformat. phucng_10 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 12-09-2008 06:00 AM
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 10:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.