How to swap a mother board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2007, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to kfinchie
Default How to swap a mother board

Just wondering how would go about swapping a mother board with a different brand for mother board. Any precautions?
__________________

kfinchie is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

Well it's really quite simple. First make sure all the items your going to be using will match up in new board. Like Ram, Video card PCI-e or AGP, PSU and then you want to make sure it will fit your case. Then when your ready and you start to unplug things make sure your grounded out so you don't static damage anything. Then for me its easier to put my RAM, CPU & Heat sync on before putting the motherboard in the case. Then make sure your risers match the motherboard and use the little cardboard washers on the screws that hold the board in and finish hooking er up. OH and make sure and use thermal paste on you CPU. You also need to make sure the small wires that go to your front panel like the power switch and such are marked clearly before you unplug them.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,672
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

and make sure all your stuff (CPU, Video card, RAM type etc.) is compatible with the new motherboard.
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

if you get a new motherboard you have to get a new operating system. get vista premium its weell good
Nick is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
if you get a new motherboard you have to get a new operating system. get vista premium its weell good
Why? Vista is to new.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-23-2007, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
if you get a new motherboard you have to get a new operating system. get vista premium its weell good
uhh no u dont
darksideleader is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 04:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

dont you??? i thoug u did
Nick is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Cool Re: How to swap a mother board

Nope you don't need to get a new OS you can just use the old one. As long as you just use it on one computer,
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 06:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

Ten Tips for Easy Motherboard Upgrades--ExtremeTech How-To
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: How to swap a mother board

ohhh thanks
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.