How to put screen in portrait mode? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2010, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Question How to put screen in portrait mode?

Hey, I am planning on mounting my monitor on an arm that rotates. I read a lot of pdfs, so this would be helpful. The problem is, I can't get my computer to switch into portrait mode. I tried to do this on the video card control center, but the option to enable portrait mode is shown as pale (as in, not applicable). I downloaded iRotate, but that isn't doing it either. Whenever I try and put it in portait mode using iRotate, the screen just flashes, and usually nothing happens, but sometimes it moves all of my desktop icons as though it when into portrait mode and switched back. Help!


My setup info:
5 year old Alienware 5500M (I think)

ATI Mobility Radeon X1400 hooked up via HDMI cable to an ASUS vw246h monitor running 1920x1080 resolution.
__________________

Stormbird87 is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: How to put screen in portrait mode?

What OS are you using? Windows 7 and Vista you right-click on the desktop, go to Screen Resolution, and choose Portrait from the drop-down menu. XP I think you right-click, go to properties, then the Display tab, and do the same.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to put screen in portrait mode?

I'm running Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3
Stormbird87 is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How to put screen in portrait mode?

How to change the screen orientation in Windows XP
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to put screen in portrait mode?

I tried this, and all it did was make my screen flash black, but not change
Stormbird87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Image on screen when coming out of sleep mode D-Rocks Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-08-2010 04:41 PM
Blue screen of death even in safe mode. Org Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-22-2010 01:27 PM
Half Screen when in Full Screen Mode? __Camouflage__ Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-17-2007 01:32 AM
Video quality bad on full screen mode christo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 03-03-2005 12:45 AM
Full Screen -- Window Mode spfd Microsoft Windows and Software 8 02-11-2004 12:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.