How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2008, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

Hi I got a new pc and I want to use my old hard dirve for extra storage and to get my old files off of it.

I'm not sure where to plug in the old hard drive on the new system. The small plug that runs from the hard drive on the new system has 2 slots next to it where it plugs into the motherboard or whatever.

Does it matter which slot I plug the small cord from the old hard drive into?

Here is a pic

http://www.tarantuladatabase.com/IMG00020.jpg

Also the big plug I think the power supply only has one cord on the new system then it runs into a nest of wires. But in the nest of wires there are some loose plugs that look like they may be extra power supply cords are they and does it matter which one I use?

Here is a pic

http://www.tarantuladatabase.com/IMG00019.jpg

The reason I'm asking is that in the old system the power supply was a flat plug and the loose cords on the new system have 4 prongs in them. Now the old hard drive i'm trying to connect also has a 4 prong port that looks like it would plug right in.

Thanks for all the help with this!!!
__________________

BossChase is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

A question. Is the "old" drive an SATA like the new drive or is it an IDE drive with a 40 pin data connector?
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

its a sata
BossChase is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

just plug it in, using the 4 pin power connection (molex)

and after you hook it up and it tried to boot off your old one, go into the BIOS and set the priorities to boot off your original drive.


EDIT: I see that you also have SATA power connections...... DO NOT PLUG BOTH THE 4-PIN white connections AND THE SATA POWER CONNECTION!!!!!! You could RUIN THE DRIVE........
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default Re: How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

The way you described it sounds like you have a ide as your old hd and the new one is a sata. On the old hd is there a ide connecter e.g. 20 pin connectors as shown in: http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/..._hard-disk.gif

Otherwise if not and it is a sata the setup and configuration should be the same for both drives.
__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: How to plug in a 2nd hard drive on my pc?

I'm sure ts a sata drive but the power plug was flat i dont think it had any pins. Kinda like a micro sd card just the little plates

it kinda looks like this one

http://www.mysuperpc.com/build/sata_...rs_jumpers.jpg

but there are alot of different ports on the back its got the same exact ports and the new hard drive.


I got them hooked up but when I access the drive none of my files are there... Well its showing the drive is 747mb on the old pc the drive was over 100gb

Is there something I can do to make the rest of my files show up?

There is a small chance that techsupport had me delete it when they were trying to walk me through reinstalling windows.
BossChase is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
Default

it is definatley possible when you re-installed the os that the hd could have gotten overwritten.. Do you remember deleting any partitions on the old drive or re-installing the os on that old drive?

Also, does the old hd and your new hd have the same os on them.. Or simpler put did you use to run the same OS as you are now?
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Deluxe
OCZ Reaper 4gb (2 x 2gb)
Intel e8500 (ocing but need to learn more)
WD 640gb 7200rpm
Visiontek HD 4870
Corsair 750tx 750w
Thermaltake VH6000BWS
Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Xigmatek Rifle 1283 with retention bracket
Samsung syncmaster 226bw 22
grkbar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem occurred when plugging in floppy drive. WasTech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 76 08-16-2008 04:36 PM
Replacing Hard Drive hesson81 System Upgrades 2 06-04-2008 11:40 AM
Need a new hard drive for my Compaq Presario dannyual767 Laptops and Notebooks 8 04-25-2008 09:18 AM
OEM or Retail Box Hard Drive kchan99 System Upgrades 5 04-10-2008 09:26 AM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.