How often should you re-apply thermal compound? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2011, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

TMPIN2 has a scary high temp. Is your northbridge hot to the touch?

EDIT: Did some searching and that motherboard seems to have a NB heat issue so I would check that.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Which one is the north bridge?

Also, is there any way I can manually control my fan speeds?
__________________

johns622 is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Northbridge is right where that passive block is, below your CPU slot.

You can get a fan controller, otherwise do it through BIOS or software as fanspeed.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

The northbridge is the thing that says gigabyte on it.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Then yes, the north bridge is hot to the touch. Not REALLY hot to the point where I can't keep my finger on it, but it's fairly warm.

I've tried tweaking my fan speeds through SpeedFan but I have no idea what I'm doing. I have RivaTuner 2.24 as well. I use that to up my video card fan speed but that's it. I'm scared to touch anything else since I don't know anything about tweaking.

Can someone please explain how to tweak my fan speeds?

edit - Ah.. I have to first turn off my fan control in BIOS huh? Well crap I don't know how to configure BIOS haha.
johns622 is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

If its not a painful warm than I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Nope, not a painful warm.

Well I just went into BIOS and into "PC Health Status" and disabled the first thing. I forget what it said. Something about the fan control. I went into SpeedFan after I logged in and set the min/max fan speeds and the desired/warning temperatures and the numbers are going down slightly.

I have the back case fan and 2 side fans blowing in and the CPU, top, and bottom front blowing out. I also unhooked the spring from the unused CD-ROM door and left that open to let any warm air at the top of the case vent out. I have to re-organize my cables though because it's a mess inside the case. I doubt the air flow is very efficient.

The problem is, when I go into msconfig, I don't see SpeedFan as a choice for me to be able to set it to load with startup. How can I add it?
johns622 is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

put a shortcut of the program in the startup folder in the all program menu.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Your fan in the front should be blowing in and the back fan should be blowing out. Hot air rises so you want your lowest fan/fans blowing cool air in and your highest fans/fans exhausting the hot air out.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 06:48 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
put a shortcut of the program in the startup folder in the all program menu.
Ah, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Your fan in the front should be blowing in and the back fan should be blowing out. Hot air rises so you want your lowest fan/fans blowing cool air in and your highest fans/fans exhausting the hot air out.
That makes sense. Guess I'll shut down and fix it again. I originally didn't do it this way because the higher side fan blows air right in front of the rear case fan so I thought it would be pointless to blow the rear one out. But we'll find out I guess.

Thanks guys! Appreciate all your help a lot!
__________________

johns622 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to apply thermal Paste? insaniak Overclocking and Modding 23 02-27-2010 03:31 PM
V8 stock Thermal Compound vs Thermal Fusion 400 smartech Cooling 10 12-15-2009 04:59 PM
Do you still want a video on how to apply/remove thermal compound? Trifid New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-11-2009 08:51 PM
How to apply thermal paste heffer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-25-2008 02:31 PM
Removing Thermal pad and apply AS? digitaloracle Overclocking and Modding 0 08-12-2005 04:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.