How often should you re-apply thermal compound? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2011, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

My computer was built in Oct of 09. Since then, I have not re-applied more thermal compound to the CPU. Someone mentioned in another thread in the general build section that my computer overheating and shutting off due to the extreme temperatures is the CPU's way of telling me it's overheating? Is this true?

How often are you supposed to apply more thermal compound, if you are? My computer is usually on every day for 5-8 hours, longer on the weekends since I only work Mon-Fri. I don't want to take it apart only to not be able to put it back together again. I don't like touching the CPU. I'm afraid I'm going to screw something about. I'm a noob with computer building. My friend put this setup together for me and he's going to put my next build together again.

Thanks.
__________________

johns622 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

My computer is on 15 hours a day at times. It all depends on how well your CPU is cooled. Any sign of drastic overheating may trigger the need to reapply.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Only time you should need to reapply thermal paste is if you're experiencing usually high temperatures (make sure there is no dust clogging your fans first). After you've made sure its clean of dust, and you're still getting high CPU temps, then I would look into reapplying thermal paste.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Once, when you install the CPU.

As carnage said the only other time is if you are having temp issues on the CPU.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Thanks for the responses.

My computer has shut off a couple times in the past from getting so hot. And the BIOS temp warning went off too (couple months ago actually). I was WAY overdue for a dusting so I did that and that dropped the temps somewhat. I recently upgraded fans and according to SpeedFan, that has dropped the temps 20-30ļC. Nothing is serious right now.

So I guess I don't need to re-apply any yet. Thanks guys!
johns622 is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

SpeedFan is garbage. Get HWMonitor and tell us the temps.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

That's a little harsh lol, the newer versions of SpeedFan work ok
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

I'm just speaking out of Slay's mouth. If he's wrong, please beat on him. :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

*commences beating*


Nah, as I said it works ok now. It definitely used to be an utter piece of ****, and still yeah it's not my first or second choice. But yeah, it works. DL the beta
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-02-2011, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Default Re: How often should you re-apply thermal compound?

Just installed hwmonitor. Temp readings are pretty much exactly the same from each program.

Sorry photobucket downsized it to be a little out of focus.



Can someone please explain to me what "TMPIN0", 1, and 2 are under my mobo? I'm going to assume thats north bridge, south bridge, annndd....? And what are both "TMPIN0" under my graphics card?

Also, I have 5 case fans installed. Is it just me or is HWMonitor not reading all of them? And why is 1 of them at 0%? I'm putting my hand in front of each one and they're all running.

Oh and all those blue arrows you see in SpeedFan used to be red (arrow, check, flame) icons before I upgraded fans. Even after dusting. That was even at idle. This is the first time I've seen blue arrows in SpeedFan.
__________________

johns622 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to apply thermal Paste? insaniak Overclocking and Modding 23 02-27-2010 03:31 PM
V8 stock Thermal Compound vs Thermal Fusion 400 smartech Cooling 10 12-15-2009 04:59 PM
Do you still want a video on how to apply/remove thermal compound? Trifid New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-11-2009 08:51 PM
How to apply thermal paste heffer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-25-2008 02:31 PM
Removing Thermal pad and apply AS? digitaloracle Overclocking and Modding 0 08-12-2005 04:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.