How Many Monitors? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2008, 09:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Most likely that would require a modified driver. Since it is nvidia try this site:

NVIDIA & Laptop News | Latest NVIDIA drivers and related news | laptopvideo2go.com

See if you can possibly find a modified driver that can do what you want. If not then i do not think there would be any other way to force it. At least none that i have seen.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

I noticed a lot of these drivers are for windows vista and I have windows xp. Is it possible that I might need to get windows vista in order to use a driver that will work?

Also, I don't really understand how this website works. How can I find forceware for the xp? Sorry for asking a lot of questions and thanks for helping.
__________________

ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 11:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Download NVIDIA drivers | drivers for mobile cards and laptops | laptopvideo2go.com

There are the drivers for XP. Just had to change the filters.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:16 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Unhappy Re: How Many Monitors?

I was able to find their latest driver for my video card and their update allowed for some tweaks that I liked but there was no triple display option still. I guess that means it isn't possible to do it.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:33 AM   #25 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Personally, I highly doubt there will ever be tri-monitor support. Triple monitor support...I've personally never heard of it. Lots of graphics cards have triple outputs (most regular desktop cards have 2 VGA/DVI and one S-Video/Component, but only support two monitors [any combination of monitors or TV's] at a time). My laptop has an LCD, an HDMI, a VGA, and an S-Video/Component/TV output, but I'm pretty sure it can only do two monitors at a time. I think this is a hardware limitation, as many cards end up installing two drivers (for example, ATI Radeon X1600Pro/ATi Radeon X1600Pro (Secondary)).

To finish off, what makes me believe it is hardware, when I do "lspci" in Linux, it shows up as two PCI devices, at least for my Radeon.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:44 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Hmm well I do have one last option if all is true. I could always check out the digital edition matrox dualhead2go.
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 12:20 PM   #27 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

I have used dual monitors with a composite output to my TV before on my 8800GTX.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:07 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

How were you able to accomplish that? Was it built for having the ability to support three monitors? Or did you modify something to make it work?
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 02:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

It wasnt a laptop card. It was also more powerful and could output more than your GFX card.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:22 PM   #30 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Yeah the problem ben is exactly as Mak just said. Your 3600M isn't powerful enough to have a 3 monitor display. Even if you were really able to find a modded driver that allowed it, the computer probably wouldn't be usable. The screens would most likely lag.

The driver support for the desktop cards is also much better and provide many more features.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 10:59 AM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
Two video cards; three monitors dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 23 01-13-2008 07:39 PM
Wallpapers for widescreen monitors Osiris Web Graphics and Design 4 04-11-2007 10:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.