How Many Monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2008, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default How Many Monitors?

How can you find out exactly how many monitors you can connect to a graphics card? I have the Nvidia Quadro 3600M and I would like to know if I can connect two monitors to my laptop. This way I would have two monitors along with the monitor on my laptop.
__________________

ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: How Many Monitors?

if you have 2 DVI or VGA ports?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Like mahiv said it's all dependent on how many video out ports there are on the laptop.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 7
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

What kind of video card do you have??
redline5th is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2the4th View Post
How can you find out exactly how many monitors you can connect to a graphics card? I have the Nvidia Quadro 3600M and I would like to know if I can connect two monitors to my laptop. This way I would have two monitors along with the monitor on my laptop.
I think he posted his card information.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 08:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

The thing is, even though I have two ports I also have the laptop screen. So does that mean I can connect two monitors along with my laptop monitor? Or will only one of the plugged in monitors work at a time?
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 12:19 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

If your laptop has two ports with the Quadro then you can connect two monitors while using your laptop monitor.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 12:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Wow that is amazing. Thanks for the help guys!
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

I tried connecting all three monitors, but only two of them ever show up at a time. For example options are: TV + Laptop, Laptop + Second Monitor, Second Monitor + TV. It has no option for Laptop + Second Monitor + TV. Is there a way to fix this problem?
ben2the4th is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 09:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How Many Monitors?

Are you using the latest video driver?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
??? on monitors, resolution, and dual displays dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-14-2008 10:59 AM
SLI + Dual Monitors WORKS.... Black Falcon 921 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 03-22-2008 10:34 AM
Two video cards; three monitors dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 23 01-13-2008 07:39 PM
Wallpapers for widescreen monitors Osiris Web Graphics and Design 4 04-11-2007 10:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.