How individual core restarts in multicore ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2012, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Wow didn't know there were actually any phones with quad core lol oh well
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

You need to get re-acquainted with the new or upcoming android lineups.
Samsung is in the same boat for adding in a quacore on their phones.
Amazing of what little devices are packing in behind those singled frame main board circuitry.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

I won't be switching to a quad core phone. Completely useless right now, IMHO. Especially when the One X (dual core S4 @1.5) is faster in day to day operations when you compare it to the quad core Tegra version.

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 08:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

I knew it! I knew that dual cores were better lol.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 12:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Hai,


In multicore Processors we have different cores.. I have read that we make one core as master and other cores as slaves.. so, when an error occurs in a process executing on slave core , Did all the cores (including master core) will restart or the slave core in which the error occurs only gets restarted.. If only the slave core gets restarted, could you please explain me how it happens..?
maroom is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 03:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Uh I think I will request this be turned into a thread. But it's a logical question just ask in this section but make a thread of your own don't piggy back on someone elses
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 08:27 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroom View Post
Hai,


In multicore Processors we have different cores.. I have read that we make one core as master and other cores as slaves.. so, when an error occurs in a process executing on slave core , Did all the cores (including master core) will restart or the slave core in which the error occurs only gets restarted.. If only the slave core gets restarted, could you please explain me how it happens..?
Not sure if troll...

I think you're getting the whole Master/Slave thing confused with IDE/SATA. If an error occurs in any active core on a CPU, it's not going to restart. The system is more than likely going to crash.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 04:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
Not sure if troll...

I think you're getting the whole Master/Slave thing confused with IDE/SATA. If an error occurs in any active core on a CPU, it's not going to restart. The system is more than likely going to crash.
Depends entirely on the error, and on the software that is being used. If the software has proper exception/error handling, then it will cache the errors, and dispose of them properly (the most common method of exception handling is to just dispose of the memory and start over).

Errors generally wont happen within the processor memory/cache or the cores, but they will generally happen in main memory. CPU memory is so small it's only used for small transactions. If a mathematical operation is performed wrong, then it will be passed into main memory and into the program; if a wrong answer is not handled, an exception is usually raised, and if there is no exception handling, then the program will generally crash, and the memory will either be freed by the OS, or it will be "stuck" and be considered garbage, and unusable.

Like the others said, cores don't necessarily restart, but they can go idle. They wouldn't restart (to my knowledge, anyway.. you can maybe find some more information deeper in some of the specific CPU architecture documentation).

If some sort of unrecoverable error were to occur on a core, then yes, there's a possibility that the system would restart.

An example of this sort of thing would be in this document; it's an example of how Intel Itanium CPU's work (error handling stuff starts on page 10 and page 11):
http://www.intel.la/content/dam/www/...ling-guide.pdf
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 05:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Depends entirely on the error, and on the software that is being used. If the software has proper exception/error handling, then it will cache the errors, and dispose of them properly (the most common method of exception handling is to just dispose of the memory and start over).

Errors generally wont happen within the processor memory/cache or the cores, but they will generally happen in main memory. CPU memory is so small it's only used for small transactions. If a mathematical operation is performed wrong, then it will be passed into main memory and into the program; if a wrong answer is not handled, an exception is usually raised, and if there is no exception handling, then the program will generally crash, and the memory will either be freed by the OS, or it will be "stuck" and be considered garbage, and unusable.

Like the others said, cores don't necessarily restart, but they can go idle. They wouldn't restart (to my knowledge, anyway.. you can maybe find some more information deeper in some of the specific CPU architecture documentation).

If some sort of unrecoverable error were to occur on a core, then yes, there's a possibility that the system would restart.

An example of this sort of thing would be in this document; it's an example of how Intel Itanium CPU's work (error handling stuff starts on page 10 and page 11):
http://www.intel.la/content/dam/www/...ling-guide.pdf
I know that, but I was just generalizing it. Let's just end this thread once and for all. Cores USUALLY don't "restart." If there is an error, the system will either handle it and you'll probably never notice, or the system will crash.
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 06:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: How individual core restarts in multicore ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tj_extreme View Post
I know that, but I was just generalizing it. Let's just end this thread once and for all. Cores USUALLY don't "restart." If there is an error, the system will either handle it and you'll probably never notice, or the system will crash.
Yeah, sorry, that whole post wasn't meant toward you, more for the OP. Was just quoting for the last part of your post; should have mentioned that.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Task Manager & multicore CPU smartech Microsoft Windows and Software 5 03-01-2010 11:14 AM
Comparing perfomance between multicore processors. Gumbi System Upgrades 4 11-05-2009 08:05 PM
Most powerfull individual cores QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 25 01-07-2009 09:18 PM
multicore cpu slick_tech15 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-03-2006 08:44 AM
Multicore/threaded games! Something Sexy General Gaming 6 08-14-2005 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.