How to increase productivity with Bandwidth - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2014, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default How to increase productivity with Bandwidth

I'm trying to figure out to how separate VoIP and Data from my networks.
I am looking to introduce a voip pbx into a small business network. There are approximately 15 workstation computers and 1 server. We would be adding 7 voip phones. From what I have been told, it is the best to physically separate the data from the voip networks to ensure great voice quality. The only problem is that we do not want to add two modems.
My question: Is there a way to physically separate the networks and still only use one modem/router? If doing this will that defeat the point of separating the two networks? Or would it be the same and just implement Qos on the network?
There is actually 2 routers with 1 modem. The second router is from another company that is renting space from the office im at leching on my bandwidth. So i want to separate the Voip from Data so my calls dont keep dropping.
I am trying to ensure the best audio quality for voip phones while keeping only 1 modem and 2 routers.

Thank you for any help/ suggestions

JayRuiz562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 387
Default Re: How to increase productivity with Bandwidth

You don't need to physically separate the networks - just put them on separate VLANs. The only thing with using VLANs is that you'll need network gear that has VLAN support. If you've got everything going into a consumer router like a D-Link or something then you might be able to find custom firmware that will give you VLAN capability; the typical home router won't have stock firmware that supports VLANs.

DistraughtSysop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,030
Default Re: How to increase productivity with Bandwidth

If your calls are dropping odds have it your external bandwidth isn't enough to handle the load of the company.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote

data, voip

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Productivity Tip for Thunderbird Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 12-09-2007 11:20 AM
Productivity hack for your Windows Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-29-2007 08:09 AM
how to increase the bandwidth cooloutdude Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-21-2006 07:50 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.