How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2012, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 15
Default How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers?

Laptops
Laptop A:
An A Brand computer
Product of 2008
Windows XP Pro. sp2 32b.
Hitachi 20GB IDE HDD

Laptop B:
A B Brand computer
Product of 2005
Windows XP Pro. sp3 32b.
Toshiba 30GB IDE HDD

I want to swap the HDDs, Hitachi to laptop B and Toshiba to laptop A.

Will they start computers and work normally?
What can help if they won't?

Thanks.
Vicky
__________________

Vicky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Veraster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 304
Default Re: How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers?

On computers with oem installations of Windows, it will refuse to work if you swap hard drives. If both of those hard drives have a retail installation of Windows, it might work. But you're probably put of luck. Nothings bad will happen if you try it as long as you don't change anything on the hard drives.
__________________

Veraster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers?

Since it's XP, if you have an XP install disc, you can run a repair install after installing the OS onto the drive in another system and putting in the correct system. Should work.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 15
Default Re: How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers?

Thank you very much!

I shall not swap the HDDs. I want to keep the legal right of using the OSs on them.

Thanks.
Vicky
Vicky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: How to get HDDs work when they swap their host-computers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicky12 View Post
Thank you very much!

I shall not swap the HDDs. I want to keep the legal right of using the OSs on them.

Thanks.
Vicky
As long as the serial key you use remains on one computer, it should be legal.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two computers, one bad HDD one good HDD can I swap? kaotikvizion System Upgrades 2 12-29-2009 01:32 AM
Fresh install on new HDDs, yet new system (with same HDD) on the way. Work? Jayce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-03-2008 11:43 AM
will this work for my computers? Norcent System Upgrades 5 05-07-2007 07:31 PM
2 HDDs or 4 HDDs for a 160gig SATA raid? jaross New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-18-2005 06:13 PM
games that swap magic dont work with cjaccardi Sony Playstation 3 03-02-2005 06:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.