HOw to format computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 04:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default HOw to format computer

I need to no how to get into formatting comp .. i no how to format just dont no where to go to get into formatting mode can i have help
__________________

gamepsyched is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

bassicly go into your bios and set your comp to boot from the cd drive first,, then pop your xp disc (assuming thats what your using) into the drive and restart the comp,, when it prompts hit any key to go into the boot secting of the disc,, then theres a few menus , i think you need to go to setup xp,, then delete the partition and recreate it, then you can format it,,,
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

what are bios?
gamepsyched is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

BIOS = Basic Input/Output System. I'm not going to vividly explain it...google it if you want to. What IrishNinjaX is referring to is right when you start your computer, hold DEL (sometimes F1, F2, or other - see your motherboard manual for details) to enter the BIOS setup. You can do a lot of stuff in here, but all you want to do is make your CD-ROM your first boot Priority. If memory serves me right, it's in "Advanced BIOS Options" (or something to that effect).

Now, you can format with a floppy diskette too. Go to www.bootdisk.com and download a boot utility and then put it on a floppy disk and boot off it.

You should get an MS-DOS screen where you can type commands, you'd type FORMAT C: (where C: is the drive letter that you want to format). You can also type FDISK and create/delete partitions. I believe you can only make FAT32 partitions this way, so it's better/easier to just boot off the WINXP cd like IrishNinjaX said.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default

Although at this point, I am inclined to recommend that you take your computer to a professional to format... or have one of your friends who knows more about computers to come help you and teach you. It is very difficult for us - who cannot see over your shoulder - to help you with this.
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

Oh god,, right im agreeing with penfold,,if you dont know what a bios is then your probably not gonna be able to format unless some1 is giving you a step by step guide whose there with you :S :S
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.