How to fix RAM timmings! need help.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2010, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default How to fix RAM timmings! need help..

I am totally new when it comes to this but here is the link to my RAM Timings should be listed there something like 8-8-8-8-24 which i have no idea what that means. But i did already have to change the DRAM voltage to the recommended factory level as well as set my ram to 1600. I am pretty sure when i was wandering around the BIOS i saw that my timings where at like 9-9-9-9-24 and wanted to learn how to fix the timings (NOT OVER CLOCK) but just set them to the stock levels.
__________________

AMBiEN22 is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 05:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: How to fix RAM timmings! need help..

if its anything like my AMD bios, go into your bios, go to the ram section, and where you see the 9's, change them to 8's... but dont do that inless someone says that right, cause i dont really know... i shouldnt even really be typing this right now, cause i really dont know... but im going to anyway.. haha
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How to fix RAM timmings! need help..

^^ just do as Sean suggested^^
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Well fixed my ram timings when running cpu-z on the mem page it reads NB Frequency like "3200" as my DRAM frequency is at about "801.8". I think this is correct because some one told me you times that 801 by 2 as DDR is dual channel or what not.

Please correct me if i am wrong!

Well when i minimize cpu-z on the task bar it tells me "1603.60" MHz so i think i did everything right! =)
AMBiEN22 is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 11:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How to fix RAM timmings! need help..

In the future use the edit button instead of double posting , Please.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: How to fix RAM timmings! need help..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
^^ just do as Sean suggested^^

i was right! yay!
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 build not booting with all RAM jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 03-29-2009 02:39 AM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.