How to enable PS/2 ports... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 01:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default How to enable PS/2 ports...

My friend just installed a new mobo for me, but id like to use my mouse with the ps/2 port so i can have another avilable usb port, can any one instruct me on how to enable the ps/2 ports?

Thanks
__________________

tinymonkey is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

they are detected automatically, just Plug-N-Play!

If you are using a USB mouse with an adapter, chances are it might not function, try a PS2 mouse first, you can either buy a used one, or borrow one.


http://www.cyberwalker.net/connectors/ps2.shtml
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

yea, ive already tried, i plugged in a ps/2 mouse, but nothing happened, is there any way that it was set up for all the power to go to the usb ports?
tinymonkey is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default

Im pretty sure you turn it on in the bios. Enter bios and look around and make sure its enabled and not disabled
VooDoo27 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

try restarting after plugging the ps/2 in
worrwhorre is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

plug in the mouse, then restart, like stated above.

Also double check your bios and make sure you have them enabled.
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 06:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

the restarting worked...thanks a lot guys!!
tinymonkey is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

for future reference: ps/2 is not hotpluggable, in other words ps/2 devices must be plugged in while the pc is turned off and they will be detected when you turn it on
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
for future reference: ps/2 is not hotpluggable, in other words ps/2 devices must be plugged in while the pc is turned off and they will be detected when you turn it on
Really? Where did you get that information? I always thought it was, I'll have to read up on it.
Sui is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well you can plug it in while its turned on but the system will not detect it until you reboot
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.