How to downgrade Dell BIOS? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2010, 07:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

I dunno. but this is plauging alot of people and dell should pay for this crap. I worked there at dell. I know how bad that company is. anyone wanna know more dirt on them let me know!
__________________

remixedcat is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 08:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joel2007 View Post
OK. After few hour. I success flash the Bios back to A06 with a floppy disk (spent an hour to find the floppy).
The problem now is the CPU still run at half speed. The Bus Speed suppose to be 533 MHz. It is 400MHz now. Does take the CPU out, the Bus Speed change back to 533 MHz?
Did you reset the BIOS settings to default after you flashed it? Either 'reset to default' in the BIOS itself, or try taking the CMOS battery out.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

I reset the BIOS settings to default------>didn't work.
I took CMOS battery out------>didn't work.
What now?
Should I take the CPU out? Or some other trick?
joel2007 is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 10:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joel2007 View Post
I reset the BIOS settings to default------>didn't work.
I took CMOS battery out------>didn't work.
What now?
Should I take the CPU out? Or some other trick?
Try what Slaymate suggested. When running in "real mode" (Not sure what that is, except for maybe, not "compatibility" mode.) By pressing Ctrl + Alt + \ at the CPU speed section. It'll take effect immediately in BIOS.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 11:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
Try what Slaymate suggested. When running in "real mode" (Not sure what that is, except for maybe, not "compatibility" mode.) By pressing Ctrl + Alt + \ at the CPU speed section. It'll take effect immediately in BIOS.
Already tried. Didn't work.
Next solution?
joel2007 is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 11:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Try a large hammer.

I think you are at the end of the road here.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 11:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Probably I just donate it. It's too old anyway.
Thanks everyone.
joel2007 is offline  
Old 05-17-2010, 12:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Can you take screenshots of CPU-Z? Preferably of all tabs available.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for some bios help roweder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 82 02-14-2010 03:45 PM
BIOS Question MindoverMaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2010 01:54 PM
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.