How to downgrade Dell BIOS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2010, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Dell GX260. Windows XP.
I just flashed the Bios to A09. Now my computer run at half speed. I want to downgrade back to A06 or whatever version before A09. The problem is, when I click A06 I got the message "The current system BIOS is the same (or newer) than the version you are trying to flash".
I also took out the CMOS battery.
I have searched for 1 hours. No solution .
I don't care what happen. I just want to get rid of A09.
Please help?
__________________

joel2007 is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

You can't. The BIOS version is in the BIOS chip, not the battery. The battery just keeps settings, time, etc.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

I found this. Go down to the Section Labeled "System Setup Options" and it will help you correctly adjust the cpu speed in the bios.
Documentation

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Thanks for the info, Slaymate.
The compatibility speed actually makes the computer a lot slower.
The real problem is that after flashed to A09. Bus Speed run at 400MHz. Before Bus Speed was 566 MHz.
There is no option to change it.

Do you know a hard way to reset the Bios version to factory settings? I just want to clear the A09.
Will reformat hard drive help clear the A09?
joel2007 is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

BIOS is not set upon your hard drive. It is within a chip on your board. You would have to replace the BIOS chip, which is next to impossible. Otherwise, you would have to RMA or send in the board to be reset.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

ouch dell really burned you there. they have been known to do this. i would stay away from thier updates. they took out half the speed of a friends laptop and they hated it so much they sold it to some old lady.
remixedcat is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

That's why I always say, "If nothing is wrong, don't fix it"

Don't update the BIOS unless a component is running poorly.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

same here
remixedcat is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

Are you running in DOS-bootables, or are you trying to flash inside of Windows? The only way you'll be able to do this, is through DOS-bootables (floppy disks).

Drivers & Downloads That'll show you how to create the boot disks. Once they're created, reboot and boot from floppy, flash with A06. If that doesn't work, there's no way, except for re-writing the BIOS chip, and that's not an easy/cheap task.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 123
Default Re: How to downgrade Dell BIOS?

OK. After few hour. I success flash the Bios back to A06 with a floppy disk (spent an hour to find the floppy).
The problem now is the CPU still run at half speed. The Bus Speed suppose to be 533 MHz. It is 400MHz now. Does take the CPU out, the Bus Speed change back to 533 MHz?
__________________

joel2007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for some bios help roweder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 82 02-14-2010 03:45 PM
BIOS Question MindoverMaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2010 01:54 PM
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
Toshiba Satellite a215-s4757 bios help Sargon Laptops and Notebooks 4 02-05-2009 01:40 AM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.