How do you map a NAS drive as a network drive when you only know the IP address and you can only use command prompt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2014, 11:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Question How do you map a NAS drive as a network drive when you only know the IP address and you can only use command prompt?

I have a client with a Windows 7 laptop, which I can access via command prompt without disturbing her. We recently had a technician go into her home, while the client was there, in order to physically install a new, pre-formatted NAS drive as a back-up drive. Although that is done, the actual software side is still not properly set-up. I know NAS enclosure's IP Address, but I do not know its hard drive's network path

Our service prides itself on servicing the customer in the background, so they stay uninterrupted and productive.

How do I map the NAS drive as a network drive when I only know the NAS enclosure's IP address and I can only use command prompt to complete this task without disturbing her?
__________________

CheckDFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 02:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: How do you map a NAS drive as a network drive when you only know the IP address and you can only use command prompt?

Can't you RDP into the clients computer and network with it that way?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: How do you map a NAS drive as a network drive when you only know the IP address and you can only use command prompt?

Hi c0rr0sive,

We do have the ability to do that, but it is our policy to do that only with the client is away from their computer. If they are really busy, that becomes a problem, as we do not want to disturb their productivity time. We are able to conduct both command prompt and file transfer tasks in the background, which is why I am asking this.
CheckDFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
backup, command prompt, drive, ip address, nas

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nas without nas please comment! Azrael211 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-14-2014 09:14 AM
Can you get the administrator password through command prompt? Jayce Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-15-2009 01:57 PM
How to assign IP address using command prompt pixel Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-20-2006 09:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.