How do you force a thumb drive to use.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2009, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default How do you force a thumb drive to use....

...the same drive letter everytime? Irregardless of anything? I've gone into disk management and changed the drive letter on several occasions. But each time I plug the drive back in, it gets the next available drive letter (usually G). I want it to be a specific letter everytime without exception. How can I accomplish this seemingly easy task? Thanks for your help, Anthony

P.S. I'm running Win XP Pro with SP3 :-)
__________________

Ants-64 is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: How do you force a thumb drive to use....

Leave it plugged in all the time, or don't plug anything else in before you plug that drive back in. As far as I know, there isn't any other way to do it.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 01:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: How do you force a thumb drive to use....

anyone know another way, I don't really want to leave it plugged in all the time, I just want it the way I want it. thnx
Ants-64 is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 03:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: At My House
Posts: 55
Default Re: How do you force a thumb drive to use....

diskpart with a autorun script that executes diskpart /s script.txt? or you could probably map your other drives to higher letters, thus it will take the lowest avail, which will be whatever you want it to take?
or maybe USBDLM?
http://www.uwe-sieber.de/usbdlm_e.html
Shylock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do I get low FPS in WoW? EliteScouter New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-20-2009 03:52 PM
Hard Drive Data Recovery SuperiorAssassin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-12-2009 01:02 AM
New Build SATA Drive Problem bendrichard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-11-2008 11:46 AM
Booting from thumb drive? eggcream Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-24-2008 08:51 PM
Scientists looking for THE FORCE! (yes, that force) bobojuice Off Topic Discussion 6 02-24-2008 06:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.