How do I speed up my hard drive in Windows XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 03:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default How do I speed up my hard drive in Windows XP?

Hi, I'm sure I saw a bar in Windows XP somewhere where you could adjust the speed of a hard drive to control noise. The problem is that I can't find it anymore and I remember that my secondary hard drive is set the to slowest speed (it was default for some reason). I'd greatly appreciate it if any of you could tell me where it is. Thank you!
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

bump
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

google it. i'm not sure if it's actually part of windows or something 3rd party.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Never heard of it Ever anywhere, I don't think you can adjust the speed of your harddrive and if you can this is the first time Id ever hear about it. I also don't think you can adjust the speed from the OS if you could anyways.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Are you sure it wasn't for a FAN? There are programs that have that exact description, except for a fan. And I've never heard or seen anything in Windows XP about slowing down a hard drive like that.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 10-20-2005, 05:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You can't adjust the speed of the HD from windows. Hard drive speed is a voltage/amperage specific fixed hardware protocol and defined by the hd's board. If you could mess with it then the out come would be this: smoke......buy a new drive. Hard drives cannot be "oc'd".
Forget about it. There have been over spin viruses in the past. I'm not sure how they worked but they caused HD over spins and instant failure!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 03:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

lol, It was a couple of months ago so I wasn't sure. I guess it was for fans hehe.
__________________

Richard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.