How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2016, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Jeeze Those start at 1500 usd and only come in 2 memory configurations, 8 or 16. 8 really should do you just fine.
But if you really think you need more you might ask them if they will give you credit for your current laptop and let you upgrade to the 16 gig version. Wouldn't hurt to ask. Besides you doing what you have in mind will certainly blow any warranty.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 04:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

I believe they are providing alternative advice on how to get additional performance out of a computer, without potentially bricking the device.
__________________

Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 05:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Not feasible... Aside from the actual chips, you would need to locate the SPD chip and replace it so that you have the proper information for the memory chips... That aside, I highly assume its DDR3/4 which will require a GOOD reflow station as they use BGA. It will cost you more in money to purchase a proper reflow station than it would to, ya know... Buy a laptop that will meet your needs.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 07:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

wow, i have never heard of such a thing. talk about limiting upgrades. you would think if they were going to go to such lengths, they would at least make certain that there would be enough ram to do ANYTHING that the system could ever do. i guess this is compared to " lifetime lubrication " in bearings. which to me means that the lifetime of the $30.00 bearing is over when the $0.06 of grease they install dries up. i will never be able to comprehend that kind of thinking. it would be like buying a Ferrari with no engine oil drain plug, or no oil fill hole.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XWrench3 View Post
wow, i have never heard of such a thing. talk about limiting upgrades. you would think if they were going to go to such lengths, they would at least make certain that there would be enough ram to do ANYTHING that the system could ever do. i guess this is compared to " lifetime lubrication " in bearings. which to me means that the lifetime of the $30.00 bearing is over when the $0.06 of grease they install dries up. i will never be able to comprehend that kind of thinking. it would be like buying a Ferrari with no engine oil drain plug, or no oil fill hole.
Well for most things, 8GB is enough RAM for most everything. I believe there is also a 16GB configuration as well. But this is also marketed as a 'gaming laptop' - albeit a pretty low end gaming laptop IMO.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it hard to solder? jester070993 Off Topic Discussion 11 11-11-2008 07:12 PM
No Solder Modchip w/swap mag 3 help needed alkaline_solo Sony Playstation 3 06-25-2005 05:59 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM
[Dumb Question] CAT 5e and a Solder Iron Harper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-19-2004 08:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.