How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2016, 01:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: mars
Posts: 38
Default How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

I got a laptop with ram thats soldered. I'd like to know how I can solder more ram.
__________________

koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by koolx View Post
I got a laptop with ram thats soldered. I'd like to know how I can solder more ram.

Normally with a soldered RAM you wont be able to, unless the MB can be hacked as additional space may/will be required.. e.g eeePC netbooks have lots of hacks as you can modify the netbook to fit more hardware.

BUT you still need to check if the CPU/MB can support more RAM?
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: mars
Posts: 38
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rulezero View Post
Normally with a soldered RAM you wont be able to, unless the MB can be hacked as additional space may/will be required.. e.g eeePC netbooks have lots of hacks as you can modify the netbook to fit more hardware.

BUT you still need to check if the CPU/MB can support more RAM?
Yes the MB & CPU can support the extrs ram. WHere can I find out more about this? I'm very interested in soldering more ram.
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 05:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

It's very very unlikely to be worth the hassle and potential damage it might cause.

You won't be able to solder on additional RAM, but you might be able to replace the RAM current integrated with a higher capacity version of the same model. This means you'll need to source something almost identical, go through the relatively dangerous process of detaching the old one and attaching the new one, and hoping it works. I doubt you can find what you need on Ebay, but I could be wrong.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

If you can't install more RAM : buy a flashdrive, and use it as ReadyBoost.


__________________
Keyboard not found...
Press ENTER to continue...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 11:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Readyboost died a while ago. You may as well use and SSD or Hybrid Drive and get better performance.

But to deal with the initial question. I would say font do it, not unless you are ok with it going wrong and needing to buy a new device or board.

You will need to be very good with an iron to remove/replace any modern day parts.
I don't even know if you could buy the parts, and if you can you may have to pay too much for it to be worth it.
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 08:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by koolx View Post
I got a laptop with ram thats soldered. I'd like to know how I can solder more ram.
What laptop is it?
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

I put a hybrid drive in my laptop and couldn't be happier with the performance upgrade in it. Was like a new laptop, I don't game or do any heavy work with it but just the average use it was a very noticeable upgrade in performance.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: mars
Posts: 38
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
What laptop is it?
HP Omen
koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: mars
Posts: 38
Default Re: How Do I Solder Ram in My Laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
I put a hybrid drive in my laptop and couldn't be happier with the performance upgrade in it. Was like a new laptop, I don't game or do any heavy work with it but just the average use it was a very noticeable upgrade in performance.
What the hell are you talking about? What does a hyvrid drive have to do with soldering ram?
__________________

koolx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it hard to solder? jester070993 Off Topic Discussion 11 11-11-2008 07:12 PM
No Solder Modchip w/swap mag 3 help needed alkaline_solo Sony Playstation 3 06-25-2005 05:59 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM
[Dumb Question] CAT 5e and a Solder Iron Harper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-19-2004 08:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.