How do I properly whipe a Hard Drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default How do I properly whipe a Hard Drive?

Computer is very messed up right now. Viruses and stuff and its really making me mad. How do I whipe a hard drive clean? anything special I need to do? I will back up all special files to disks.... please help me out, thanks...
__________________

Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

you can do format or kill disc
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

when you reload windows you can format the drive. If you have multiple partitions make sure and format all of them if you want to make sure bad stuff is gone.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Use the Windows Disc and Boot from CD then Format and re-install.
jogoz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto the last post. or use third party software to format and then re-install windows. if you want to truly wipe that hdd clean i.e. so that the FBI don't find anything you have to use something like kill-disk. its at either killdisk.com or kill-disk.com, can't remember which
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 05:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

well before you backup your files make sure they are clean before restoring them
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 06:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

goes without saying but still a good point. i had a recurring virus hidden in one of my backups that i didn't pin down for a while. eventuall it dawned on me and i restored the clean files from my backup using linux.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.