How Do I Check to see if I Have a Serial ATA Hard Drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default How Do I Check to see if I Have a Serial ATA Hard Drive?

I want to know if I have an IDE or a Serial ATA drive. I know absolutely nothing about hardware regarding storage and drives. Can you provide me the steps on how to find out which type of drive I have?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Open up your computer, find your hard drive:

See if you have either a SATA connecter on it:

Or an IDE connector:
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

Is there a way to check by using a software or utility? My computer is still under warranty and I don't want to break it.

Thanks.
__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Use either Everest or Belarc Advisor to get your hard drive's model number (both are free and available on majorgeeks.com).

Then either Google it (if it is old) or look it up on NewEgg.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

HIt F2 or Del (depends on the manufacturer) and go into the bios. The general biois information screen will tell you if your HD is SATA or IDE.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its a good bet that if you don't know what you have, you probably have EIDE ATA 100 And Not SATA Unless this is a recent buy.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Just give me the model number of the computer I'll look it up for ya k?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

Yes, I have a Serial ATA hard drive. Thanks for the help.
__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

How did you figure it out? Just to finish the story!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 10:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Default

lol ok, i looked up my hard drive's model up, and found that its serial ata.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.