How do I check my driver versions? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2009, 08:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

have you tried removing the wireless card and see if the problem clears up? perhaps a driver/LAN conflict?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 11:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

Do I have to completely remove the card or just uninstall/disable the drivers?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 12:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

i would remove the drivers, then physically remove the card form the computer.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 02:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

That didn't solve the problem. I've got new symptoms though. When I went to a LAN party, I couldn't join any of the games we tried to lan (age 2 + 3 and quake 3). I was not able to see any internet games for quake, and I couldn't connect to ES online for Age 3. I could get on their internet and play cod and dow2, but no one could see any game I hosted, nor could I see any game hosted, no matter whether I was connected via wireless, ethernet, or even ethernet directly into the other pc. Two of the other computers were running vista 64 ultimate as well, and they had no problems.

Also, I haven't been able to connect to the servers in lotro since the last patch even though I selected unblock when windows firewall prompted me. I tried it with AVG uninstalled as well. It didn't work.

This is really weird. Mak said realtek drivers don't work, and that is what I have for my LAN. What alternative drivers should I get?

Is it possible something besides the LAN portion of the mobo is causing this?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 07:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

no i think you misunderstood mak. if your LAN is realtek, their drivers work. so, you can connect to the plain ol' internet through your LAN port on the mobo? but you are having game trouble, right?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

Yeah, I can get internet and browse like I'm doing now, but I am having game trouble, and problems connecting to some servers and stuff. AVG can't do it, and neither could pbsetup or driver detective.


Cod 4+5 work online, but the online coop in cod5 does not work.

Since I patched lotro, it does not work. I can connect with the client and log on, but I fail to connect to the servers.

Dow2 works online, and I have lanned it, but sometimes I get nat negotiation errors when trying to connect to some people.

Others stuff does not work. I tried lanning age 2, 3, and quake 3, and I couldn't see any games nor could they see mine. I was connected to the network, and able to use my net browsers and play cod online at the lan location.

When I was trying to play age3, I was getting the protection stub thing: cpratt: Protection Stub has stopped working redux
I did all that, but I already had the option selected to only use it for windows files, and I tried just adding the exception. The error was gone, and it is still gone now that I reverted back to having it on only for windows programs as makes sense, but I still can't connect with my net.

And, as I said, UT3 does not work.

Also, on a side note, when I right click a game icon, and I go into properties compatibility tab, it will not let me select run as administrator. It will not let me deselect it either. I know it worked before because I had to check the box to get lotro working in the first place. I don't know if this is connected or not. Also, UAC being disabled shouldn't be causing any of this, should it?

I explained the measures I have already taken in an earlier post.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

i notice youa re using a router. have you tried forwarding the ports of each game that is not working? i doubt that will work, but you can try it. sounds like you have some wacky software running somewhere causing you grief. if it was the LAN of the mobo, nothing would work right...and you wouldnt be able to surf the net.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 10:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

Yeah, I've done the port thing and ran in DMZ. I've even hooked an ehternet cable directly to another pc, and it didn't work.

Do you have any suggestions for finding out which software it is? Are you sure it isn't an incorrect setting somewhere? Edit: Tried to find this out with a safe boot, but even when I safe boot with network, I can't get internet, and the video drivers it loads couldn't handle a game anyway.

Would it be better to make another topic for this in the internet connections or OS forums?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

might not hurt to move it to the internet section. no, im not sure its not an incorrect setting somewhere, i am not familiar with that motherboard. i just lean towards a software problem as it is intermittent, and only happens with certain games. as far as suggestions for finding the culprit...man o man, check and see what processes are running when it fails.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 10:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: How do I check my driver versions?

This was during lotro:

The second one is from a selective startup where I disabled all non windows startup services. It still didn't work.

I also did this Tracert thing:
URL=http://img12.imageshack.us/my.php?image=tracertf.jpg][/URL]
Attached Images
File Type: jpg task manager processes 1.jpg (99.4 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg processes selective startup.jpg (93.8 KB, 22 views)
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Hijackthis log file, please help! soarwitheagles HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 08-31-2008 01:11 PM
Please Analyse, ethernet controller no longer working...[P] djmaddogfreak HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 07-04-2008 10:05 PM
Disk check scheduled won't go away darkop16 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 06-14-2008 02:05 PM
video card driver not updating Derekgnr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-18-2007 06:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.