How DDR3 Ram Works - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default How DDR3 Ram Works

Hi!
I'd like to receive some assistance in regards to memory and how it works. I currently have a setup of a triple channel memory of 12gb of RAM using the Corsair's 4GBs (times three).

I had originally been able to work up to 18 gb of ram (6 sticks | 3 x 2GB | 3 x 4GB). The direct cause of this 18gb not working is when the desktop started shifting during a plane flight has caused a few cables to be unplugged but - from the looks of it - no hardware seems to have any permanent damage.

The problem is that whenever I plug in all six sticks only 6gb is recognized.

It's in this order:

2GB STICK
4GB CORSAIR
2GB STICK
4GB CORSAIR
2GB STICK
4GB CORSAIR

I was wondering if there was any settings I should do in the BIOS?

For example, if I remove the ORANGE sticks, the 12GB is recognized.

This is

-empty-
4GB CORSAIR
-empty-
4GB CORSAIR
-empty-
4GB CORSAIR
-empty-

Kindly let me know how I should proceed. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Have you tried just using the 2gb sticks?


Also, is the bios not recognizing the sticks or is it your os?


Im debating asking why you were on an airplane with a desktop too lol
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: How DDR3 Ram Works

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddangerous View Post
Have you tried just using the 2gb sticks?


Also, is the bios not recognizing the sticks or is it your os?


Im debating asking why you were on an airplane with a desktop too lol
I did not!

Both the BIOS and the OS cannot recognize the sticks given that all six sticks are plugged in totaling to 6gb when it should be 18gb. If I unplug the three 2GB sticks, it shows up as 12GB (enabling the 3x4GB sticks).

It was cheaper .

Kindly let me know the relation of the 2GB sticks isolated. Will that prove that the 2GB sticks are working 100% and then we can target the motherboard as the problem? What am I exactly trying to prove?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default Re: How DDR3 Ram Works

Quote:
Originally Posted by akasixcon View Post

Kindly let me know the relation of the 2GB sticks isolated. Will that prove that the 2GB sticks are working 100% and then we can target the motherboard as the problem? What am I exactly trying to prove?
Yeah it should, in my tired state i cant imagine what else would be going wrong beside the motherboard being messed up. oh have you tried swapping the slots all the sticks were in?

Edit: it could rule out the 2gb sticks being bad, though i dont know why they would be selectively targeted.

And i decided, id like to know, why did you have a desktop on an airplane? lol you wouldnt believe my curiosity, is this some relatively common occurrence im not aware of? lol
__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: How DDR3 Ram Works

Hey sorry for the late reply! Life is hectic for a Computer Information Systems major!

Umm... isn't desktop usually transferred over the air? Is there a typical procedure? haha
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 03:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: How DDR3 Ram Works

If you move, UPS that stuff in a heavily packed box (extra bubble wrap and packing peanuts). I would never send my PC in the air because those guys handle your stuff worse than the ground crew.

Make sure the 2GB sticks work by themselves and test each stick individually to make sure none of the sticks are bad. Also, try swapping the sets around to make the 4GB set first. Instead of 2/4/2/4/2/4 do it the other way around. If the sticks aren't 100% matching (speed and timings) go in and set them manually and set the volts manually.

DId you have an aftermarket heatsink/tower on when you shipped your PC through the air?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akasixcon View Post
Hey sorry for the late reply! Life is hectic for a Computer Information Systems major!

Umm... isn't desktop usually transferred over the air? Is there a typical procedure? haha
See i was not awake when posting... Silly me thought your computer was on during the flight 0.o
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.