How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2011, 10:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

Your Power Supply has a 5 year warranty so I would contact Corsair about a replacement.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 12:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

That app was incorrect. I checked my bios and volts were are 11.72. So is that really off enough to be replaced?
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 01:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

Your bios is reading the sensor with no load applied to most of your components. When you boot into Windows, and all of your Drivers have loaded and all of the components are fully functioning the voltage reading will be, or could be, different.

And 11.72 volts is low for a system that is not under any load. I still think you should contact Corsair for a replacement.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 06:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

ok thanks...I can't recall where I bought this from but I though it was newegg. I checked there and didn't see this under my invoices. Are they touchy about where you bought it? Wish I could remember
Chad711 is offline  
Old 05-30-2011, 08:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

Contact them and see if they require an invoice or not. Or read their warranty procedure, might be in there as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-02-2011, 11:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

I agree with power supply.
Heater is offline  
Old 06-03-2011, 10:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

I spoke with them and they said that a 5% variance is well with in specs.

That said I have something else that just happened that I'll share and see what feedback I get from this.

I was just now renaming some movie files and all was working fine. Then probably the 7th file I was renaming it said I couldn't rename it because it was in use by windows explorer. It wouldn't let me delete the file or anything. I waited for about 15 minutes and tried again and same problem. So I decided to restart the system. Well now it's stuck on the post. If it's stuck on posting does this mean it's a memory problem? Just don't get why my computer randomly just acts up! If there is a stupid problem I wish it would just show itself already! Im starting to get frustrated over it!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 02:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

Have you tried removing everything except down to the basics? 1 stick of RAM, video card, CPU? (no PCI cards, HDD, cd-rom). See if it POSTs then.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 02:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
4P_Bulldozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 205
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

PC-Wizard is free and lets you check nearly everything http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/pc-wizard.html .
__________________
Bulldozer Will Rule.

http://img.tineye.com/result/adb2576...a2f274a8433fda Got a question, try the Search Bar.
4P_Bulldozer is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How can I test my HDD, RAM, CPU for intergrity, failure...?

I saw your post at Corsair. You didn't tell them much. Tell them what you have already tested. But just to make sure you should run Memtest through the complete test twice, in a row. And you should run Prime95 for at least an hour. If the system Blue Screens we need to know the message and the ***STOP code.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PXE-E61 Media Test Failure on Toshiba NayNay1991x Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-12-2008 09:08 PM
'PXE-E61:Media test failure, check cable...' Please help me. Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 19 12-23-2007 12:07 AM
ATITool Artifact test + 8800 gtx failure Gabb Overclocking and Modding 19 11-29-2007 01:09 PM
media test failure?? Shane12m Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-20-2007 12:31 AM
Media Test Failure gamer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-04-2006 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.