How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2015, 03:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Quote:
Originally Posted by earwicker7 View Post
Under the chipset downloads on the motherboard's website, it has Intel(R) Chipset Software Installation Utility V9.3.2.1015 and Intel Management Engine Interface V9.5.15.1730. Should I install both?
Yes - you can go directly to Intel's website as well instead of the motherboard manufacturer's website and get newer drivers as well.

Quote:
I do have a Razer mouse, and it has been giving me some funky issues... when I put my computer into sleep mode, it often doesn't work when I wake the computer up. All I have to do is unplug it and plug it back in. I'll reinstall those drivers.
Would definitely look into that. Is the mouse plugged into a 3.0 port as well?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 03:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Update your Chipset drivers, USB Drivers, and Razer drivers in that order... I would update both the Management Engine and Chipset Installation honestly.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 04:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yes - you can go directly to Intel's website as well instead of the motherboard manufacturer's website and get newer drivers as well.



Would definitely look into that. Is the mouse plugged into a 3.0 port as well?
No, the only thing I have plugged into a 3.0 is a memory stick.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 09:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Razer software in general can cause a lot of software headaches. I suggest using Revo to take that **** out and make it do an advanced scan to rid your registry of the ****ware.

Anybody for an FYI, Intel's INF doesn't do a whole lot more than what Windows update already does. USB Hub stuff, PCIE stuff. Doesn't hurt to update it, but IME seems to be more of an importance, especially in 8.0/8.1.

To the OP, don't need to OC the board to get 2133. You should be using the XMP profile instead. If you have changed your BCLK at all put it back to 100 and use the XMP profile to bump your RAM to 2133.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my PSU causing random shutdowns? ActivePudding Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-27-2014 08:29 PM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Power Supply Style - how to tell apart? Jayce System Upgrades 7 05-12-2006 08:18 AM
Comp. has random shutdowns, can it be my os? PuMpKaN Microsoft Windows and Software 33 12-14-2005 05:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.