How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2015, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

My computer has been getting a lot of random shutdowns recently. Often, it won't even BSOD, but will just flat out shut down like a lamp would when the power goes off. There are also some spontaneous reboots... unfortunately, I forgot to turn off "Automatically Restart" in the Startup and Recovery field when I reinstalled the OS, so I don't have any recent BSODs to use for troubleshooting.

Other than buying another power supply, is there any way to use voltmeters, or some kind of software, to try to nail down the problem? I just don't want to spend a couple of hundred dollars for a new supply and find out that isn't the issue.

The only thing which is currently overclocked is my memory... 2133 is the stock speed for it, but I have to overclock the board to get there.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Do you have anything stored under C:\Windows\Minidump

If so, zip them up and upload them and I can analyze them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Might be a lot easier to just set the memory and board back to the default clock speeds and see if you crash after doing that
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

You could take out the 7970 and run the intel igp and see if it still dies.

You can use a digital multi meter and measure your voltage using a 4 pin, it'll give your 3V quality.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Not likely that a Silverstone 1500w power supply would fail but you never know.
You can get a tester from Amazon that should be o.k. for a basic test.
http://www.amazon.com/4-pin-Power-Su...+supply+tester
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Do you have anything stored under C:\Windows\Minidump

If so, zip them up and upload them and I can analyze them.
I got a BSOD today with a Driver_Power_State_Failure, for which I've attached the dump file. I'm not sure if this is related to the PC completely shutting down or not... there are no dump files for when that happened.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 052815-11093-01.zip (67.6 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Do you have the proper and most recent drivers for all components? You have disabled all power saving features on the motherboard correct? Two things come up when I look at that minidump, MSPQM.sys errors out, and ntoskrnl.exe errors out, also, remove your overclock, it's pointless to have the ram overclocked like that really.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Do you have the proper and most recent drivers for all components? You have disabled all power saving features on the motherboard correct? Two things come up when I look at that minidump, MSPQM.sys errors out, and ntoskrnl.exe errors out, also, remove your overclock, it's pointless to have the ram overclocked like that really.
I will check the power saving features once I'm finished on this print run. While that finishes, are there any particular things I should do about those two errors?

To the best of my knowledge, all of the drivers are up to date, but I'll double check.
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 02:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Here's the analysis of the dump:
Code:
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 9F, {3, fffffa801f7a3c10, fffff8800141b7f0, fffffa80230ff010}

*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for asmthub3.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for asmthub3.sys
Probably caused by : asmthub3.sys

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

1: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE (9f)
A driver has failed to complete a power IRP within a specific time.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000003, A device object has been blocking an Irp for too long a time
Arg2: fffffa801f7a3c10, Physical Device Object of the stack
Arg3: fffff8800141b7f0, nt!TRIAGE_9F_POWER on Win7 and higher, otherwise the Functional Device Object of the stack
Arg4: fffffa80230ff010, The blocked IRP

Debugging Details:
------------------


DRVPOWERSTATE_SUBCODE:  3

DRIVER_OBJECT: fffffa801e0445e0

IMAGE_NAME:  asmthub3.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  520e7d76

MODULE_NAME: asmthub3

FAULTING_MODULE: fffff88008d90000 asmthub3

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  WIN8_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x9F

PROCESS_NAME:  System

CURRENT_IRQL:  2

ANALYSIS_VERSION: 6.3.9600.17298 (debuggers(dbg).141024-1500) x86fre

DPC_STACK_BASE:  FFFFF88001422FB0

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`0141b7b8 fffff801`cba1af22 : 00000000`0000009f 00000000`00000003 fffffa80`1f7a3c10 fffff880`0141b7f0 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`0141b7c0 fffff801`cba1af55 : fffffa80`231cc480 fffffa80`1f3d1000 fffff880`0141b939 fffff801`cb9a8150 : nt!PopIrpWatchdogBugcheck+0xe2
fffff880`0141b820 fffff801`cb9077ba : fffffa80`1f3d1000 fffff880`0141b939 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 : nt!PopIrpWatchdog+0x32
fffff880`0141b870 fffff801`cb905c25 : 00000000`00000000 fffff801`cb9072cf 00000000`00140001 fffff801`cbb80100 : nt!KiProcessExpiredTimerList+0x22a
fffff880`0141b9a0 fffff801`cb907c38 : fffff880`009f0180 fffff801`cbb7ef80 00000000`00000002 00000000`0027aa64 : nt!KiExpireTimerTable+0xa9
fffff880`0141ba40 fffff801`cb906fd6 : fffffa80`00000000 00001f80`009f0080 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 : nt!KiTimerExpiration+0xc8
fffff880`0141baf0 fffff801`cb907f8a : fffff880`009f0180 fffff880`009f0180 00000000`00000000 fffff880`009fc040 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x1f6
fffff880`0141bc60 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`0141c000 fffff880`01416000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiIdleLoop+0x5a


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0x9F_3_POWER_DOWN_IMAGE_asmthub3.sys

BUCKET_ID:  0x9F_3_POWER_DOWN_IMAGE_asmthub3.sys

ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM

FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:0x9f_3_power_down_image_asmthub3.sys

FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {12eb0d90-8fd7-cc3c-7648-32ce90a0e457}

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
asmthub3.sys is the faulting driver

Checking out the driver...
Code:
1: kd> lmvm asmthub3
start             end                 module name
fffff880`08d90000 fffff880`08db5000   asmthub3 T (no symbols)           
    Loaded symbol image file: asmthub3.sys
    Image path: \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\asmthub3.sys
    Image name: asmthub3.sys
    Timestamp:        Fri Aug 16 14:28:54 2013 (520E7D76)
    CheckSum:         00028CD4
    ImageSize:        00025000
    Translations:     0000.04b0 0000.04e4 0409.04b0 0409.04e4
It's from 2013 (note the timestamp value). Update that driver - sounds like it's a chipset/USB 3.0 driver. So go to your motherboard manufacturer's website, download the latest chipset and/or USB3.0 driver. See here for more info: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...7-2e4177abd57a

Edit:
Diving further into the memory locations, there's also references to Razer drivers. Do you have any Razer devices?

Code:
1: kd> !irp fffffa80230ff010
Irp is active with 11 stacks 7 is current (= 0xfffffa80230ff290)
 No Mdl: No System Buffer: Thread 00000000:  Irp stack trace.  
     cmd  flg cl Device   File     Completion-Context

<snipped>

			Args: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
>[ 16, 2]   0 e1 fffffa801f7a3c10 00000000 00000000-00000000    pending
	       \Driver\asmthub3
			Args: 00041100 00000001 00000001 00000002
 [ 16, 2]   0 e1 fffffa80206bdd20 00000000 fffff8800881cf40-00000000 Success Error Cancel pending
	      Unable to load image \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\rzdaendpt.sys, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for rzdaendpt.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for rzdaendpt.sys
 \Driver\rzdaendpt	hidusb!HumPowerCompletion
			Args: 00041100 00000001 00000001 00000002
I would definitely update those drivers as well (or reinstall them and then update). You could also try a different USB port to see if it's an issue with the port/Razer device.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 03:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: How can I tell if a power supply is causing shutdowns?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Here's the analysis of the dump:
Code:
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

BugCheck 9F, {3, fffffa801f7a3c10, fffff8800141b7f0, fffffa80230ff010}

*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for asmthub3.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for asmthub3.sys
Probably caused by : asmthub3.sys

Followup: MachineOwner
---------

1: kd> !analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE (9f)
A driver has failed to complete a power IRP within a specific time.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000003, A device object has been blocking an Irp for too long a time
Arg2: fffffa801f7a3c10, Physical Device Object of the stack
Arg3: fffff8800141b7f0, nt!TRIAGE_9F_POWER on Win7 and higher, otherwise the Functional Device Object of the stack
Arg4: fffffa80230ff010, The blocked IRP

Debugging Details:
------------------


DRVPOWERSTATE_SUBCODE:  3

DRIVER_OBJECT: fffffa801e0445e0

IMAGE_NAME:  asmthub3.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  520e7d76

MODULE_NAME: asmthub3

FAULTING_MODULE: fffff88008d90000 asmthub3

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  WIN8_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x9F

PROCESS_NAME:  System

CURRENT_IRQL:  2

ANALYSIS_VERSION: 6.3.9600.17298 (debuggers(dbg).141024-1500) x86fre

DPC_STACK_BASE:  FFFFF88001422FB0

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`0141b7b8 fffff801`cba1af22 : 00000000`0000009f 00000000`00000003 fffffa80`1f7a3c10 fffff880`0141b7f0 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`0141b7c0 fffff801`cba1af55 : fffffa80`231cc480 fffffa80`1f3d1000 fffff880`0141b939 fffff801`cb9a8150 : nt!PopIrpWatchdogBugcheck+0xe2
fffff880`0141b820 fffff801`cb9077ba : fffffa80`1f3d1000 fffff880`0141b939 00000000`00000001 00000000`00000000 : nt!PopIrpWatchdog+0x32
fffff880`0141b870 fffff801`cb905c25 : 00000000`00000000 fffff801`cb9072cf 00000000`00140001 fffff801`cbb80100 : nt!KiProcessExpiredTimerList+0x22a
fffff880`0141b9a0 fffff801`cb907c38 : fffff880`009f0180 fffff801`cbb7ef80 00000000`00000002 00000000`0027aa64 : nt!KiExpireTimerTable+0xa9
fffff880`0141ba40 fffff801`cb906fd6 : fffffa80`00000000 00001f80`009f0080 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000002 : nt!KiTimerExpiration+0xc8
fffff880`0141baf0 fffff801`cb907f8a : fffff880`009f0180 fffff880`009f0180 00000000`00000000 fffff880`009fc040 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x1f6
fffff880`0141bc60 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`0141c000 fffff880`01416000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiIdleLoop+0x5a


STACK_COMMAND:  kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  0x9F_3_POWER_DOWN_IMAGE_asmthub3.sys

BUCKET_ID:  0x9F_3_POWER_DOWN_IMAGE_asmthub3.sys

ANALYSIS_SOURCE:  KM

FAILURE_ID_HASH_STRING:  km:0x9f_3_power_down_image_asmthub3.sys

FAILURE_ID_HASH:  {12eb0d90-8fd7-cc3c-7648-32ce90a0e457}

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
asmthub3.sys is the faulting driver

Checking out the driver...
Code:
1: kd> lmvm asmthub3
start             end                 module name
fffff880`08d90000 fffff880`08db5000   asmthub3 T (no symbols)           
    Loaded symbol image file: asmthub3.sys
    Image path: \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\asmthub3.sys
    Image name: asmthub3.sys
    Timestamp:        Fri Aug 16 14:28:54 2013 (520E7D76)
    CheckSum:         00028CD4
    ImageSize:        00025000
    Translations:     0000.04b0 0000.04e4 0409.04b0 0409.04e4
It's from 2013 (note the timestamp value). Update that driver - sounds like it's a chipset/USB 3.0 driver. So go to your motherboard manufacturer's website, download the latest chipset and/or USB3.0 driver. See here for more info: Blue Screen&#58; Stop 0x9f - Microsoft Community

Edit:
Diving further into the memory locations, there's also references to Razer drivers. Do you have any Razer devices?

Code:
1: kd> !irp fffffa80230ff010
Irp is active with 11 stacks 7 is current (= 0xfffffa80230ff290)
 No Mdl: No System Buffer: Thread 00000000:  Irp stack trace.  
     cmd  flg cl Device   File     Completion-Context

<snipped>

			Args: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
>[ 16, 2]   0 e1 fffffa801f7a3c10 00000000 00000000-00000000    pending
	       \Driver\asmthub3
			Args: 00041100 00000001 00000001 00000002
 [ 16, 2]   0 e1 fffffa80206bdd20 00000000 fffff8800881cf40-00000000 Success Error Cancel pending
	      Unable to load image \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\rzdaendpt.sys, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for rzdaendpt.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for rzdaendpt.sys
 \Driver\rzdaendpt	hidusb!HumPowerCompletion
			Args: 00041100 00000001 00000001 00000002
I would definitely update those drivers as well (or reinstall them and then update). You could also try a different USB port to see if it's an issue with the port/Razer device.
Under the chipset downloads on the motherboard's website, it has Intel(R) Chipset Software Installation Utility V9.3.2.1015 and Intel Management Engine Interface V9.5.15.1730. Should I install both?

I do have a Razer mouse, and it has been giving me some funky issues... when I put my computer into sleep mode, it often doesn't work when I wake the computer up. All I have to do is unplug it and plug it back in. I'll reinstall those drivers.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my PSU causing random shutdowns? ActivePudding Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-27-2014 08:29 PM
Bad HDD Causing Random Shutdowns? southpole_89 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 02:50 AM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Power Supply Style - how to tell apart? Jayce System Upgrades 7 05-12-2006 08:18 AM
Comp. has random shutdowns, can it be my os? PuMpKaN Microsoft Windows and Software 33 12-14-2005 05:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.