How can I make WinXP recognize my SATA Drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Default How can I make WinXP recognize my SATA Drives?

Had to use an IDE HDD for WinXP, and I have two SATA HDD's with information on them. How do I get my computer to recognize the two HDD's?

Thanks!
__________________

consolemax_com is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You need to go through the Windows installer and watch the bottom at the start for an option "push F6 to install 3rd party RAID drivers" or something similar...then you need a floppy disk with your motherboard SATA drivers to install and you're good to go
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

install the sata driver that came with your motherboard, or addon card
Sui is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if he's already got windows running on an IDE then all he needs to do is plug in the SATA drives and assuming he's installed all drivers for his motherboard it should recognize it right away.

gaaras explination is only for installing windows on a fresh SATA drive
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

DID you enable the drives in your BIOS I saw a really confusing DELL bios the other day IT HAD PATA and SATA mixed and it took a few passes to figure out how to enable the SATA drive.
tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.