How to boot from a cd - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2009, 07:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

it should be downloaded and be a .iso ....with your burning program put the disk in and select "burn image" do NOT burn as a data disk. Then select the .iso and let it burn...that should be pretty much it. Then boot it just like the vista CD
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 07:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

Are you trying to reinstall Windows or just wiping the hard drive clean?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Ok great.. i got it booted up on the gparted CD.. and i selected the option "gparted default" a bunch of lines with random numbers and words spammed down the screen, and now im in the "configuring console-data" screen.. Options: select keymap from arch list, don't touch keymap, keep kernal keymap, select keymap from full list.

I dont know what a keymap is at all, so which option shoudl i choose? sorry for the newbness :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Are you trying to reinstall Windows or just wiping the hard drive clean?
I want to wipe it clean
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

Within GParted you should only have to select the first option on the first grey screen, then hit enter twice to get the US Keyboard layout and US Eng language. After that the rest you dont need to worry about.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:04 PM   #25 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

i would say don't touch the keymap and leave it default and or select one and choose US.

Haha just as a note, we're not supposed to double post just edit the old one. Don't worry about it this time though ^_^


Edit: GAHHHH ahahahahaha been ninja'd soooo many times in this one thread...hahaha dang you Mak!!
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:09 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

Alright awesome.. thanks for stickin with me. I'm now on the screen where my partition is lsited, showing how much is used/unused. There is also a small hidden partition (7mb :/). If i right click my main martition, i have the option to delete, or format to a different extension. Should i press delete?

And coma, you need to sttep up your speed ha!
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:11 PM   #27 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

haha yeah delete it, then recreate the partition if you want. Or you can just format the partition as it is now.
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

hm is it ok that it only took about 3 seconds? i figured it would have taken a good amount of time to erase all that data..

Oh do I need to create a new partition table, and then it will erase everything?
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: How to boot from a cd

The format is the erase. The partition table is what it shows with the colored borders. So if you have all yoru space allocated and formatted to the file system you want you are good to go.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.