How about doing RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2009, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default How about doing RAID

I am wanting to do RAID on my Emachine T6520. I have 3 SATA Drives and am wanting to do RAID 0. I got the Drivers to do it but I need to do it with a floppy but no floppies and no floppy drive. Is there any other way of doing RAID?
__________________

__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: How about doing RAID

You can't burn the files to a CD?
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: How about doing RAID

would that work? but it says do it with floppy. should I try
__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: How about doing RAID

For raid0 you only need 2 drives. Are you looking to reinstall windows on this array? If so you can use nlite and slipstream your drivers into a install disk. Keep in mind raid0 is good for os and programs but you do not want critical data on it unless you have regular backups. If one of the drives fails you loose all data on both disks.

Are you using a pci sata raid card with this setup?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 09:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: How about doing RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
For raid0 you only need 2 drives. Are you looking to reinstall windows on this array? If so you can use nlite and slipstream your drivers into a install disk. Keep in mind raid0 is good for os and programs but you do not want critical data on it unless you have regular backups. If one of the drives fails you loose all data on both disks.

Are you using a pci sata raid card with this setup?
Yeah, like hefemeister said, RAID0 is really only good if you want speed, or for gaming. It provides no fault tolerance.

Just a thought, it is possible to place RAID drivers on a USB flash disk and install them? I've only ever tried it with a floppy. Might be worth a shot?
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mind Boggling Raid Problems DesoShade Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2008 08:43 PM
RAID Help camhabib New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-31-2008 06:48 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.