Hot Hot Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy
Default Hot Hot Processor

Hey all - the other week I built my brother a new computer (Suprise suprise, his 800MHz P3 Dell running XP wasn't cutting it for his engineering programs anymore).

Build went great and √ľber smooth, but when I went into the BIOS, the CPU was idling (in BIOS at startup) around 50-53C.


Now, that just seems ridiculously hot to me - I've never had issues with cooling other than my laptop (Hypersonic GX7 - 3.4 P4 HT EE, Idles @56C in Windows).


His board is: MSI 865PE NEO2-V, Socket 478.
Processor: Celeron D 340 Prescott 533MHz FSB - 2.93GHz (Retail)
RAM: 1gb Rosewill (2x512mb) PC3200
Video: Rosewill GeForce FX5200 128mb AGP8x

I used the stock Heatsink with the stock square of thermal compound on it - I've used it before in my budget machines without this problem before.


Any ideas? All fans work, heatsink is securely attached, etc.
__________________

__________________
-Tom
Eagleboy is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Are you sure the heatsink is installed properly? Not much you can do if everything is installed properly than to RMA it.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy
Default

Well, unfortunately my brother needed the computer at that moment - so I had to send it off with him right after building it. I won't be able to take a good look at it until March 11th, his spring break. I guess I should have also asked if you guys think it would be okay until then, operating at that high temp. I mean, it's below 60C - but it'll be at high temps for almost 3 weeks.
__________________
-Tom
Eagleboy is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

It should be fine, but 50C idle is way to high
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

It'll help burn it in for overclocking...

I'm just trying to think of a benefit. I think it should be safe. Keep it near a window or something.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 02:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Have him keep the side panel off for extra ventilation, might get a bit of dust but you can get a nice drop in temps by doing that. Heck, I used to keep the side panel off my case and point a small desk fan at my PC, I had 15 degrees lower temps from that. Probably not the greatest idea because of dust and magnets in the fans, but I never had a problem. (knock on wood)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 03:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

my new socket T 3.0mhz idles at 51 i thought it was normal for this type of cpu
my socket 478 2.8 northwood idled at around 38
both with intel cpu cooler and arctic silver compound
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 04:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

thats a fairly acceptable temp.
especially since its taken from the bios.
get motherboard monitor or speed fan, and check temps in windows.
__________________

__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.