Hooking my computer to my TV. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Hooking my computer to my TV.

Hi there, I'm new here but I was wondering if anyone could help me with a bit of a problem I have. I've been wanting to connect my computer to my TV for entertainment purposes.

I have a 27" TruFlat RCA TV (model 27F522T) with an S-Video (4-pin) and Composite plugins as well as a normal RCA plugin. My video card is the ATI Radeon x1950 Pro with dual DVI-I and S-Video (7-pin) outs. I was wondering which cord I should get for optimum performance to connect my video card to my TV. Should I get an S-video to S-video or a DVI-I to composite? I'm lost on these this type of subject as I'm not hip the types of cords and which are better.

Also, a side question I've been wondering is; My video card can support 720p and 1080i I believe. If I turn those on, would my TV be able to support them due to my computer card generating the graphics? Or am I at a complete loss for that? And would introducing a DVD player as a medium be any help for connecting my computer to my TV? By increasing quality and performance?

All help to answering this post will be greatly appreciated as I would like to watch movies on a bigger screen. They go well with my Logitech Z-5500 speakers.
__________________

Nuggs is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Hooking my computer to my TV.

s-video to s-video
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Hooking my computer to my TV.

Yea I use s-video to s-video on mine and the picture comes through great.
mvpo.geo is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: Hooking my computer to my TV.

Quote:
Also, a side question I've been wondering is; My video card can support 720p and 1080i I believe. If I turn those on, would my TV be able to support them due to my computer card generating the graphics? Or am I at a complete loss for that? And would introducing a DVD player as a medium be any help for connecting my computer to my TV? By increasing quality and performance
I believe that your TV has to be able to support those resolutions. If it doesn't... then you're outta luck for the higher resolutions. And if you hook it up through another device.. it loses quality actually. Because it has to travel through a connecter...through the DVD player.. and through the Out connector.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hooking my computer to my TV.

Ok guys, thanks for the opinion. I have one more question though. Where can I find a s-video (4-pin male) to a s-video (7-pin male)? I've tried finding one but I couldn't so far.us
Nuggs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM
Computer freezes during boot-up poveren Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-30-2007 04:46 AM
Computer + TV? blackhawk13 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 12:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.