hit power switch, no response - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default hit power switch, no response

Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
info_->here

I plug everything in everyhting is conected properly and i turn on the power sulpy... i press the on button on the case and nothing turns on
i attempt to do this again without a grafix card and the fans start for a second and turn off right away can anyone please help ur assistance would be much apriciated
__________________

Onitsoga is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

check jumpers and make sure the power switch wires are in the right spot
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

if it continues try replacing the powersupply, go to a local store pick one up with a good return policy and see if it helps. let us know
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

im sorry i forgot to mention the motherboard does turn on all the time but nothing else does
Onitsoga is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

by motherboard you mean the LED on the motherboard? like i said try another psu see if that helps.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

would there be a way to test out the powersuply by itself??
Onitsoga is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

get a voltage meter but i would just go to a local store pick up a psu with a good return policy test it out and see if it works.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

thx, i guess ill give it a try asap, just incase its not the psu any other ideas??
Onitsoga is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

then we start to look at the motherboard thats next on the list
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.