high temps.... not sure if this is safe - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2009, 06:53 PM   #21 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

I've used Riva on a few ATI cards for fan speed. It can't overclock but there are some things it can do like fan control. I don't know about the 3850 though.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 07:06 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
Mine keeps throwing off driver not found errors.
When does it error? during install, or when you run it.

I get an unknown driver error, but it still runs.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 09:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

When it trys to run, I click ok, and nothing happens, it just hangs up.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 10:17 AM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

have you tried uninstalling and then deleting that file, re-downloading it and re installing it?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 11:55 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

Yea, I have even tried on a fresh install of vista x64....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:26 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

wowzers. is it the newest version of rivatuner?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 02:52 PM   #27 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

Have you enabled all of the admin rights like in Maks tutorial?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 07:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

Yes, and I have logged into the Administrator account after enabling it, so that there should have given me full access to everything...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 09:17 PM   #29 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

well. im stumped.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 09:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: high temps.... not sure if this is safe

Have you tried adjusting the fan speed in Catalyst Control Center?
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are These Safe Temps? spikoman69 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-14-2008 09:54 PM
Speedfan showing high temps.. Demalii Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2008 06:30 PM
Is there anyway to disable Safe mode? Plus need help with something else Oh noes Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-27-2007 08:38 PM
Running Crysis on Very High in XP/DX9 Waphlez PC Gaming 1 11-02-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.