High Temperature? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2014, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Question High Temperature?

Hello, I use an E-Machines computer, and i have installed speedfan, and i have been having this problem for a while now. I think my computer is running too hot. And, yes before you ask, i have cleaned it (probably for the first time EVER for this computer). I don't really know whats going on, but, can you tell me if this is normal?
__________________

SirKirbyThe4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: High Temperature?

Post your specs so we know what hardware you have; if you're not sure of the specs, then post the model # of the computer and we can look up the specs.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Default Re: High Temperature?

Oh, ok:
i have an E-Machines T6414
and the fan & Power supply that i have are the default ones that came with it.
Oh, and i forgot to mention, when i took that photo of my computer, it was doing nothing at all.
SirKirbyThe4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: High Temperature?

45c idle temp is perfectly acceptable for stock cooling on an old Athlon. Also Speedfan isn't the best to monitor temps with.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Default Re: High Temperature?

Oh..... so i should just reset the danger temperature?
to..... what?
SirKirbyThe4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: High Temperature?

What are you talking about exactly? If you mean in the bios of your PC the shutdown temp should be set around 70c.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Default Re: High Temperature?

oh.... thats always nice. well, thank you.
also, if speedfan isn't the best.... what is? Because thats always #1 on some sites, & google search.
Also, my remote 2 is set at 118C, but that's obviously a speedfan glitch, right?
SirKirbyThe4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: High Temperature?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
What are you talking about exactly? If you mean in the bios of your PC the shutdown temp should be set around 70c.
I'm guessing he means the "alert" setting in Speedfan or something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirKirbyThe4th View Post
oh.... thats always nice. well, thank you.
also, if speedfan isn't the best.... what is? Because thats always #1 on some sites, & google search.
Also, my remote 2 is set at 118C, but that's obviously a speedfan glitch, right?
HWMonitor is a better all-in-one; it's what I usually use.

CoreTemp or RealTemp for CPU only, and GPU-Z or MSI Afterburner for GPU.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: High Temperature?

Speedfan hasn't been relevant for years.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Washington
Posts: 5
Default Re: High Temperature?

So i downloaded HW Monitor, & diode 2 is at 120 Celcius, & the same # is for Value, Min & Max.
__________________

SirKirbyThe4th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
emachines, speedfan, temperature

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workstation PC - High dust, High moisture, High chance of getting knocked a little saltynay System Upgrades 12 11-02-2010 12:08 AM
42 degrees too high an idle temperature for an athlon 64 processor? stainer711 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 05-17-2006 02:49 AM
temperature too high? dale5605 Overclocking and Modding 11 02-21-2005 03:50 PM
Video Card temperature alarmingly high Him Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-29-2005 01:13 PM
Temperature too high!! stephenace Overclocking and Modding 20 01-25-2004 08:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.