High Physical Memory % - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2011, 04:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default High Physical Memory %

Just got a new motherboard, CPU, and RAM for Christmas.
Motherboard: Rampage III Formula
CPU: Intel Core i7 Bloomfield 950- 3.06 Ghz
RAM: 3 GBs G.Skill (Triple Channel)

Now just sitting at the desktop with 2 tabs in an internet browser, Steam (no game playing), and MSN my Physical Memory is at around 45-50%. These numbers seem oddly higher than my older hardware. Do I need to adjust the page file settings to correct this number and if so make the page file bigger or smaller, or do I need to correct this another way?
__________________

Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

Check your background programs in Task Manager. What is taking up the most of that RAM?

I have 8GB of G.Skill Ripjaw, and I am using 23% of it. That's with all my programs, and Chrome with 11 tabs.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

wdm.exe is using 17,588K
Setpoint.exe is using 161,984K (this is the software for my wireless keyboard and mouse i think)
iexplore.exe is using 39,684K with just 1 tab.

Those would be the highest on the list of processes going right now.
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

Setpoint is a config for Logitech devices. I use the same.

WDM is for Windows Defender. It does not need to run in the background.

Go Run -> msconfig
Look at the startup tab. Anything you see checked there that you do not know about, you probably do not need.

Also, did you do a spyware check recently? Try Malwarebytes and Spybot S&D.

IE should not take up that much RAM. Try CCleaner to clean out IE.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

This is normal for Windows Vista/7. These versions of Windows store commonly used data in the memory so that programs that you use a lot will load instantly. Of course all of the memory that is not in use is still available.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

I don't think that 45 - 50% is normal for Windows Vista/7. I just checked 4 systems - two with 2Gb and two with 3Gb of RAM. They range from 28 - 35%. My 4 and 8Gb systems are running 24% and 19%.

This has nothing to do with the Page File. Win7 is very good at managing it, so I would leave it alone.

I have one IE9Beta session with one tab (this page) open and between the two processes (one is for automatic recovery) it shows 14,000K and 46,000K. So I don't think that 39,000K is bad. That said, if you have added several add-ons that may contribute to that figure.

Do note that when you are idle, Windows kicks in with background housekeeping chores so that may be part of the issue. Since this is a new system, indexing may be going on when you are idle. That will settle down when it completes indexing the whole drive(s).

What are you running for security? I would not disable Windows Defender unless you are running something else for an anti-spyware solution. I've been running with MSE since migrating my systems to Win7 and have no regrets. And it MSE will, or should, disable WD once installed as MSE includes anti-spyware and anti-malware solutions.
Digerati is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

I have Firefox open with three tabs, FAH GPU Tracker running with both a SMP and GPU client, Hardware Monitor, Three Yahoo widgets, RocketDock, one sidebar widget, MS Security Essentials... a total of 89 processes using 26% of 8GB.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-02-2011, 11:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

I have 49 processes running using 22% of 6GB. You should be able to open up the Windows Resource Monitor and see what processes are actually using or hogging your memory.

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

My anti virus is PC Tools Spyware Doctor and I have the Registry Mechanic to go with it. Thanks for all the posts, I'll try those ideas out.
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: High Physical Memory %

Well, note Spyware Doctor by itself is not an anti-malware scanner. For that, you need Spyware Doctor with Antivirus - which is not free. If you don't have that, then I recommend you get a full anti-malware scanner immediately. I use Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) and am very happy with it - and it is free and has no costly renewal fees either. Since it includes an anti-spyware scanner, you can uninstall Spyware Doctor, or at least make it on-demand (so it is not running in real-time all the time).
__________________

Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low physical memory memory Microsoft Windows and Software 8 08-17-2008 11:26 PM
physical memory usage Jesse the Body Overclocking and Modding 4 10-02-2005 10:29 PM
Physical Memory Problems roadwarrior Microsoft Windows and Software 10 11-14-2004 07:34 AM
Physical memory dumping? Stupid Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-17-2004 09:55 PM
XP physical Memory Dump ADZ Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-30-2003 10:30 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.