High CPU Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default High CPU Usage

My CPU Usage on my computer is unreasonably high. I have about 22 basic processes up, and it's between 25-35%. Normally, it should be around 5%, right? I only have the bare necessities, and no actual programs running. I've ran virus scans and adware scans and nothing has helped. My CPU usage USED to never be this high.

specs are
3.06ghz P4 w/ HT
512mb of ram.
120gb 7200rpm (70+gb's free)
__________________

melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Is it 25-35, all the time? Or like just when you open up task manager or some program, or is this pure idle
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

It's 25-35% all the time constant, it never goes below 25. It's pure idle.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Can you list the processes?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

It sounds like Spyware running in the background .Even though you checked. What did you to check your system. I've seen this problem with spyware even after i used 3 programs to clean it all out but something was hiding somewhere and still draining the CPU. Just my thoughts.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 01:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default



Barely any processes up (22) and almost 50% cpu useage... Nothing is being opened either.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

And as for the adaware, I ran Adaware SE personal, what else would you recommend.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

spybot search and destroy is another good one, google it, download it, and run it!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Spybot search and destroy didn't help any.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 03:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sPlAtOiD
It sounds like Spyware running in the background .Even though you checked. What did you to check your system. I've seen this problem with spyware even after i used 3 programs to clean it all out but something was hiding somewhere and still draining the CPU. Just my thoughts.
Give me some other programs to scan with.
__________________

melonabusar2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.