Hi guys, long time no post! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Hi guys, long time no post!

Some of you may remember me and my noobery a couple years back ^_^
As of now, I'm working at Staples as an "Easytech expert technician". (actually, on the clock now)
Anyway, I'm not having too many problems fixing these customer's computers. There's just this one nagging problem, and what is ticking me off about it is that there's two computers (one a Dell XPS 410 running Vista, the other a Compaq Presario c700 running Vista). I originally thought Vista was the problem, because I've had my fair share of freezing problems when it first came out (remedied with updates). But both of these computers are fully updated...
The XPS is fully stable in Safe Mode (not sure about the Compaq). Also fully stable in Ubuntu, and they pass all hardware tests. So, naturally, I told both customers that their hardware was having conflicts with Windows Vista (half bsing because I want the sale, half because I'm not sure what is going wrong with Vista but I was pretty confident Win 7 would fix it).
Both computers froze during the "Completing installation" phase of Windows 7. (note: both of them are installing windows 7 with the "upgrade" version. I understand that installing windows 7 as an upgrade from the existing operating system when that existing operating system has stability issues is not a good idea. It was also my understanding that doing a fresh install would be basically the same as with the full version, that is to say that any stability issues in Vista would be a non-issue if I'm booting from the upgrade disc and doing a custom install (format and all).
I need some suggestions because I don't want to have to call the customer back saying "I can't fix it "
Thank you for your replies! I missed you techist.com.
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazer_viking View Post
Some of you may remember me and my noobery a couple years back ^_^
As of now, I'm working at Staples as an "Easytech expert technician". (actually, on the clock now)
Anyway, I'm not having too many problems fixing these customer's computers. There's just this one nagging problem, and what is ticking me off about it is that there's two computers (one a Dell XPS 410 running Vista, the other a Compaq Presario c700 running Vista). I originally thought Vista was the problem, because I've had my fair share of freezing problems when it first came out (remedied with updates). But both of these computers are fully updated...
The XPS is fully stable in Safe Mode (not sure about the Compaq). Also fully stable in Ubuntu, and they pass all hardware tests. So, naturally, I told both customers that their hardware was having conflicts with Windows Vista (half bsing because I want the sale, half because I'm not sure what is going wrong with Vista but I was pretty confident Win 7 would fix it).
Both computers froze during the "Completing installation" phase of Windows 7. (note: both of them are installing windows 7 with the "upgrade" version. I understand that installing windows 7 as an upgrade from the existing operating system when that existing operating system has stability issues is not a good idea. It was also my understanding that doing a fresh install would be basically the same as with the full version, that is to say that any stability issues in Vista would be a non-issue if I'm booting from the upgrade disc and doing a custom install (format and all).
I need some suggestions because I don't want to have to call the customer back saying "I can't fix it "
Thank you for your replies! I missed you techist.com.
maybe a clean format would fix this problem, If you can get Mak to reply I'm sure he could answer, He's great with software.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Actually the XPS might have spyware/viruses. Download combofix, and hijackthis, post both of the logs on these forums there's a virus section and thread for it. And let somebody analyse it.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

It's almost got to be a hardware problem because it's completely wiped now, and it froze during completing installation again. :/
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Bad HDD, I expect.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Bad HDD, I expect.
Try A different hard drive It could be that ^ But once I had this problem , changing HDD did nothing, in the end it was the processor.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

I want to suspect the hard drive.... Or a fault cable, try resetting the settings in the BIOS incase something about the sata controller has/had been changed.

Also, try out a spare HDD and a good cable to rule out the drive and cable both entirely... I am pretty sure they have spare parts around there for testing... Atleast, I would hope so, as software doesn't always detect everything that could cause issues....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 06:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Sorry I didn't end up posting the solution, it was a bad HDD. I took your guys' advice and tested the HDD. Where I work I have access to a lot of diagnostic equipment, so I was able to take the HDD out and put it into an enclosure on my work laptop. Periodically you could hear the hard drive click and stop spinning, as if there was something physically obstructing the platters. That explains why it was "working" in safe mode, because I guess I got lucky and didn't have the hard drive fail there. When I plugged enclosure into my laptop and fired up our diagnostic program I got a ton of delayed write failures, so I put my ear to it and heard the bad clicking.
I called up the customer and he was cool with getting a new hdd in it. Popped in the new WD 1tb and it worked like a charm
Thanks for your advice, it really helped

As for the laptop, idk what caused the freezing. I hate it when things like that elude me. I feel like I took the cheap way out by just reinstalling Windows, but I did what I had to do to make efficient use of my time.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 09-16-2010, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Hi guys, long time no post!

Can we say, we told you so? :P

j/k
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time builder, long time reader Billymac24 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-09-2009 01:53 AM
Hi everyone...1st time poster, long time fan...I have an issue DannyBoston Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-18-2008 08:35 PM
Hey all. Long time no post haha. New Rig time! Need input. TheOtis New Systems | Building and Buying 27 03-18-2008 04:06 PM
Long time no post. adam02 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-22-2007 03:25 PM
Takes a long time to post Person Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 01-29-2005 09:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.